Advanced Practice Provider Excellence Award

Commencing in 2019, this award will be given annually by the Boston University Medical Group to an Advanced Practice Provider, such as an Advanced Practice Nurse: Nurse Practitioner (NP), Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM), Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS), Certified Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA), Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist (PCNS) or Physician Assistant (PA-C) who demonstrates excellence in collaboration and has made noteworthy contributions to promote patient wellness. Award recipient will be designated as a member of the BUMG Clinical Excellence Society.  There are no restrictions on who may submit a nomination.


  • Advanced Practice Provider with 1 or more years of service at BMC


Recipients display the following characteristics in both patient care and care team interactions:

  • Exceptional clinical knowledge
  • Exemplary relationships with both patients and team members
  • Unwavering commitment to care for all patients at all times

Recipients have distinguished themselves through exceptional contribution in one of the following areas; contributions to multiple areas will enhance a nominee’s chances:

  • Quality or process improvement
  • Patient care innovation
  • Trainee teaching
  • Mentorship
  • Community service
  • Team-building

Instructions for Nominator:

Please prepare a letter of nomination that addresses how the nominee meets the criteria for this award.