News and Upcoming Events

Congratulations Kayleigh Rowan, winner of the 2013 NEAFS Collegiate Poster Competition!

Congratulations to Destiny Costly, recipient of the Robert L. Johnson Academic Scholarship

The Robert L. Johnson Academic Scholarship is sponsored by the Johnson-Whyte Memorial Foundation Fund which was established to fund scholarships and research grants. This scholarship was established in memory of Robert L. Johnson of the U.S. Secret Service. Mr. Johnson was instrumental in the formation of the International Association for Identification (IAI) Latent Print Certification Board and served as its first Chairman. He was an active member of the IAI for 18 years and was serving as the 2nd Vice President of the IAI at the time of his death. The purpose of this scholarship is to promote the advancement and growth of Forensic Identification as a profession by offering financial grants for college scholarships and other educational and research projects consistent with the purposes of the IAI.

BMFS Student Kayleigh Rowan awarded the Cartha Deke DeLoach Scholarship from the J. Edgar Hoover Foundation

Kayleigh and Bill BranonThe J. Edgar Hoover Foundation is dedicated to the service of others and in promoting education and excellence in scientific research.  Ms. Rowan’s research focuses on understanding the impact of uncertainty in measurement and the impact on forensic DNA interpretation.

Kayleigh received the Cartha “Deke” DeLoach Award from William Branon, chairman of the board and director of The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation in a ceremony at the School of Medicine in August 2013.