Meet the Mentor: Sarah Mlynek

Gender Identity & Pronouns: Female – she/her/hers
Affinity Groups: gGlobal
Race/Ethnicity and/or Nationality: Asian/White
Languages: English & French
Hometown: Bristol, RI
Education: BS in Business management, Minor in Sociology and Anthropology, Roger Williams University
Industry Interest: Human resources, higher education, healthcare

Personal Facts/Hobbies:

I grew up in a small coastal town in Rhode Island known for its summer activities and ideal location between Providence and Newport. During my childhood, I spent a lot of time on the beach, participating in various outdoor activities such as hiking and occasionally traveling to New Hampshire. While there, one could find my siblings and I exploring nearby creeks, snow mobiling through the trails behind our family friends house, or even by the fire roasting some marshmallows. Some of my favorite memories growing up, were made while I was there with my family. Speaking of family, I’m the youngest out of three kids and have a fraternal twin brother (he’s older than me by a few minutes).

In March 2022, I officially joined the team at GMS as an Administrative Assistant and officially moved to the area in August 2022. My role here, as I like to say, is one with many hats; however, a great deal of my responsibilities is with two different programs which are the Health Profession Education program (HPE) and BU Post-baccalaureate Research Education Program (BU PREP). Some of my responsibilities involve coordinating different events, assisting with updating websites, scheduling meetings and much more.

However, outside of my role as an administrative assistant, some may be familiar with me due the short period of time I assisted GMS Admissions Office. Through this opportunity, I was able to work closely with a multitude of programs and built relationships with many of the incoming international students. As I transition back to my original responsibilities, I realized I wanted to become a GMS C3 mentor. Two of the biggest reasons that drove me to pursue becoming a mentor is to continue supporting students and being an advocate for them.

In my free time outside of work, a few of my favorite hobbies are cooking/baking, staying active, and brushing up on my French. On a nice day, you can typically find me going on hikes with friends, exploring the Boston area for new food spots, or occasionally travelling. One thing I’m looking forward to possibly doing this fall, is seeing the foliage change in northern New Hampshire. Whenever I’m not out and about, I enjoy trying new cooking recipes, hanging out with my roommates, or catching up on a few Netflix series.