Meet the Mentor: Manasi Dandekar

Gender Identity & Pronouns:
 Female (she/her/hers)
Affinity Groups: gGLOBAL/ gSOC/ gFIRST
Race/Ethnicity and/or Nationality: Asian, Indian
Languages: English, Hindi, Marathi
Hometown: Mumbai, India
Education: Bachelor’s in Pharmacy – Mumbai University, Master’s in clinical research – Boston University (current)
Industry Interest: Clinical Research and Pharmaceutical Industry

Personal Facts/Hobbies: I was born and raised in Mumbai, India where I have spent 22 years of my life with my mom, dad, and my little brother. I was always interested in science and arts (while my entire family was from the accounts background). I pursued my interest in the scientific field with an undergraduate degree in Pharmacy from India. I was very academically inclined but also loved going out and having fun with my family and my friends. Post completing my undergraduate degree, I decided to join Boston University in 2022 to pursue my master’s in clinical research. Life in Boston was different than the one I was used to living in India, but equally exciting and fun. I met some really amazing people here with whom I thoroughly enjoyed my graduate degree program. I graduated this year and will now be working in the clinical research industry. During my time at BU, I have a lot of support and encouragement from my peers, faculty as well as the mentors and advisors here and I would love to have a chance to provide the same to all the incoming students so that they have an equally enjoyable experience in their new journeys, and so I am excited to be a part of the C3 community.

As for my hobbies, I have tried all different forms of arts and crafts like painting walls, embroidering, tailoring my own clothes and I love every bit of it. I also love to cook food and try out different cuisines, so I will always be open to suggestions for new dishes or restaurants. I am looking forward to meeting all the new students and making some new friends.