Four GMS Faculty Named Recipients of Edward Avedisian Professorships

Photo courtesy of the Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine.


Four Graduate Medical Sciences faculty have been named recipients of Edward Avedisian Professorships, funded from the $100 million gift made in 2022 by the late Edward Avedisian (CFA’59,’61, Hon.’22) and his wife Pamela (Hon.’23).

The four GMS faculty members are:

Rachel Fearns, chair of virology, immunology, and microbiology. Dr. Fearns was named the Ernest Barsamian, MD, Professor.

Hee-Young Park, professor and chair of medical sciences and education, professor of dermatology, and associate dean for faculty affairs. Dr. Park was named the Carolann S. Najarian, MD, Professor.

Andrew Taylor, associate dean of research and professor and vice chair of research in ophthalmology. Dr. Taylor was named the Sarkis K. Kechejian, MD, Professor.

David A. Harris, chair of biochemistry and cell biology. Dr. Harris was awarded the Edgar Minas Housepian, MD, Professorship.

BU Today featured the newly named Avedisian professors in a March 21 article. Click here to read more about our faculty and the professorships!