Grasberger Research Symposium

In 1990, the Department of Surgery established the Grasberger Research Symposium in memory of Robert C. Grasberger, MD, an outstanding graduate of our training program who died in 1987. In recognition of Dr. Grasberger’s academic and research accomplishments, the Grasberger Symposium provides an opportunity for our surgical residents and fellows to present original basic and clinical research.

2023 Grasberger Symposium 

On March 3, we were honored to welcome as our 32nd Grasberger Visiting Professor, Thomas K. Varghese Jr., MD, MS, MBA, FACS. Dr. Varghese is Chief Value Officer and Associate Chief Medical Quality Officer at the Huntsman Cancer Institute. He is Chief of the Section of General Thoracic Surgery at the University of Utah and a Professor (Tenure-track) of Surgery at the University of Utah School of Medicine.

Dr. Varghese started the day with a grand rounds lecture entitled Scaling Innovations for Health Systems – Surgeons as Leaders on the Frontlines, and closed it with a keynote address: The Big IDEA: Mentorship, Allyship & Sponsorship in the Era of #HeForShe.

Residents, fellows, and medical students participated in oral and poster presentations during the daylong symposium.


Recent Grasberger Research Symposium Visiting Professors

Thomas K. Varghese Jr., MD, MS, MBA, FACS
Chief Value Officer & Associate Chief Medical Quality Officer,
Huntsman Cancer Institute
Chief of General Thoracic Surgery, University of Utah
Professor of Surgery, University of Utah School of Medicine

Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA, FACS, FSSO
Chair, Department of Surgery
Leon Goldman, MD Distinguished Professor of Surgery, UCSF School of Medicine

Sanziana A. Roman, MD, FACS
Professor of Surgery, UCSF School of Medicine
Dean’s Diversity Leader for Leadership, Equity, and Inclusion

2021 (hybrid symposium)
Sareh Parangi, MD, FACS
Chair, Department of Surgery, Newton-Wellesley Hospital
Director Mass General Hospital (MGH) Thyroid Cancer Research Laboratory

2020 (virtual symposium)
Introduced by Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, MSHA
President of Brigham and Woman’s Hospital (BWH)
Executive Vice-President of Mass General Hospital (MGH)

Caprice C. Greenberg, MD, MPH, FACS
Professor of Surgery, Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Morgridge Distinguished Chair in Health Services Research at the University of Wisconsin

Jacob A. Greenberg, MD, EdM, FACS
Professor of Surgery, Augusta University
Director of the AU Health Comprehensive Hernia Center

Mary T. Hawn, MD, MPH, FACS
Chair, Department of Surgery, Stanford School of Medicine

Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS, FRCSEd
Chair, Department of Surgery, University of Washington
Henry N. Harkins Endowed Chair in Surgery, University of Washington School of Medicine

Diana L. Farmer, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery, UC Davis Health

K. Craig Kent, MD 

Chief executive officer of University of Virginia Health 
Executive vice president for health affairs at the University of Virginia

Michael L. Longaker, MD, MBA
Deane P. and Louise Mitchell Professor, Stanford School of Medicine



Share this: