Medical Student Awards

Each year the Department of Surgery presents three awards to Boston University School of Medicine medical students.

Peter J. Mozden Cancer Award Fund 

Establish as a tribute to Peter J. Mozden, MD, who began his long and illustrious career at Boston University in 1949 upon entering BU School of Medicine and culminating in 1989 when he became Professor Emeritus. The Section of Surgical Oncology presents this award to a member of the graduating medical school class who has performed in an exemplary manner during his/her clinical or research elective.

Richard Elkort M.D. Memorial Fund 

Dr. Richard Elkhort was a surgical oncologist committed to cancer research and to better understanding the role of nutrition in the prevention and management of cancer. Dr. Elkort was well known for his dedication to his patients, his love of people and life. The Richard Elkhort M.D. Memorial Fund award was established in 1985 as a tribute to Dr. Elkort by his family, faculty and friends. This award is given to the 4’th year student who best exemplifies Dr. Elkhort.

The Savenor Prize for Excellence in Surgery

The Savenor Prize for Excellence in Surgery was established by the Savenor family in memory of Dora Savenor, who had been a cancer patient at Boston Medical Center. It is awarded early to a student who is entering a residency in General Surgery or a surgical subspecialty, and who achieved the best final score during the third year surgical clerkship. The awarding of the prize is based both on clinical performance and on surgical knowledge as demonstrated on written and oral examinations.

The Masakichi and Mitusuko Itabashi Award

Awarded to a graduating student with outstanding interest in oncology and oncological research.  This award is named in honor of the parents of BU School of Medicine graduate, (Hideo Itabashi, MD ’54), both of whom fostered and encouraged education as the road to man’s fulfillment.
The Anne and David Mishel Cancer Research Award

Established to recognize the medical student who has most distinguished himself/herself in the area of cancer research or in unusually empathetic and compassionate care of cancer patients, this award is presented in memory of both Anne and David Mishel who were victims of cancer and succumbed to it. The student to receive the award is selected from the fourth year class by joint Oncology faculty representing the Medical and Surgical Oncology and Radiation Therapy Services (all Oncologic Services).

Share this: