Willock, Sullivan Faculty Development Programs Aim to Attract URG Faculty

In an effort to cultivate, sustain and promote an inclusive and diverse faculty on the Boston University Medical Campus, the Faculty Development Office announces two programs especially for underrepresented racial and ethnic faculty.

The Marcelle M. Willock, MD, Faculty Development Program is a longitudinal leadership and career development program uses self-reflection and assessment, experiential learning, and peer and senior mentorship to provide faculty with the tools necessary to navigate a successful career in academic health sciences, and to foster leadership skills that enable participants to positively affect change from where they stand. Applications will be accepted from April 5-May 24 for the AY22 program.

It is named for Dr. Marcelle M. Willock, Professor Emerita of Anesthesiology and the first Black woman to achieve emeritus status at BUSM. Chair of Anesthesiology from 1982-98, Dr. Willock was among the first women of color to lead an academic and clinical department in the United States. After leaving BUSM, Dr. Willock became the first female Dean of Charles Drew University College of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, where she retired in 2005.

“Traditional academic medicine has emphasized and rewarded research and innovative medical care and teaching. Other avenues now have been added such as social and equity determinants of care, leadership and organizational dynamics, and others are yet to be found. With appropriate encouragement and guidance, faculty can make contributions to both traditional and other fields exerting an influence even greater than they envision,” said Dr. Willock.

The Louis W. Sullivan, MD, Academic Leadership Program is a selective program for faculty from underrepresented groups (URG) in medicine who would benefit from protected time to complete a project that will advance their careers. Faculty will receive .10FTE for the academic year. Applications will be accepted thru March 15 for the AY22 program.

It is named for Dr. Louis W. Sullivan (BUSM 1958), a professor of Medicine who founded the Boston University Hematology Service at Boston City Hospital (now Boston Medical Center). In 1975, Dr. Sullivan became founding dean and director of the Medical Education Program at Morehouse College. He later served as the first dean and president of Morehouse School of Medicine. Dr. Sullivan went on to serve as the U.S. secretary of Health and Human Services under President George H.W. Bush. Subsequently, Dr. Sullivan established the Sullivan Commission on Diversity in the Healthcare Workforce in 2003, before organizing the Sullivan Alliance in 2005, to promote diversity in the health professions. The Sullivan Alliance is now a program of the Association of Academic Health Centers.

“I hope that this Academic Leadership Program at Boston University School of Medicine will inspire more minority health professionals to pursue careers in academic medicine as clinicians, teachers and researchers and to serve as role models, mentors and counselors to their students, fellow academicians and to the nation,” said Dr. Sullivan.

For more information on all BUMC faculty development programs, click here.