Student Affairs Office

Welcome to BUSM and the Student Affairs Office!

Our goal is to support you on your unique PATH through medical school, help you develop lifelong skills that will sustain your personal and professional growth, and create an overall fulfilling experience at BUSM. Our Office works with students across all years to help you explore your areas of interest, plan your career, and find creative solutions to challenges that you may face.

Our Vision
Provide students with a unique PATH to personal and professional excellence.

Our Mission
To provide advice, guidance and opportunities for creativity, reflection and growth. To support students’ through the process of becoming the physicians they aspire to be.

Student Affairs Deans

Angela Jackson

Angela Jackson, MD

Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Associate Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
Section of General Internal Medicine
hjackson@bu.edu; (617) 358-7467

Dr. Angela Jackson’s video


Robert M. Beazley, MD, FACS

Bob BeazleyAssistant Dean for Student Affairs
Professor of Surgery, Emeritus
Department of Surgery
reddogbeazley@gmail.com

Dr. Robert Beazley’s video

 


Vonzella Bryant, MD

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Clinical Assistant Professor
Boston University School of Medicine
Department of Emergency Medicine

vbryant@bu.edu

Open office hours: Thursdays, 11:00-12:00 P.M. *

 


Chen

Daniel Chen, MD, MSc

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Associate Clerkship Director—Internal Medicine
Department of Medicine
chenda@bu.edu; (617) 358-2203

Open office hours: Thursdays, 11:00-12:00 P.M. *

Dr. Dan Chen’s video


Curran

Paige K. Curran, MA

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Director, Academic Enhancement Office
Instructor of Medical Sciences and Education
pkcurran@bu.edu; (617) 358-7464


Arvin Garg, MDArvin Garg headshot

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Department of Pediatrics
Division of General Pediatrics
Arvin.Garg@bmc.org; (617) 358-7474

Dr. Arvin Garg’s video

Open office hours: Fridays, 11:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. *


Grundfast

Kenneth Grundfast, MD, FACS

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Professor of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
kenneth.grundfast@bmc.org

Open office hours: variable, contact Sophia.Boulas@bmc.org to make an appointment

Dr. Ken Grundfast’s video


Vivian Sanchez, MD

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Assistant Professor of Surgery
vmsanche@bu.edu; (617) 358-7474

Open office hours: Mondays, 12:00 P.M. – 1:00 P.M. *


Symes

Karen Symes, PhD

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
symes@bu.edu; (617) 358-

Open office hours: Tuesdays, 1:30 – 2:30 P.M. *

Dr. Karen Symes’s video


Megan Young, MDMegan Young headshot

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Course Director, Integrated Problems
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
Section of Geriatrics
Megan.Young2@bmc.org; (617) 358-4429

Open office hours: Wednesdays, 12:00 – 1:00 P.M. *

Dr. Megan Young’s video

* Unless otherwise noted in Student Affairs. Open office hours are designed for quick questions, exploratory conversations, and emergencies. Students are seen in order of arrival. We also encourage students to arrange individual appointments with deans, especially if the issue(s) they wish to discuss require an extended conversation.


Student Affairs Staff

 

Amanda Kaufman, MEd.
Student Affairs Coordinator  
akaufm@bu.edu; (617) 358-7461

 

 

 

Camille Serelus
Wellness and Advising Program Coordinator  
cserelus@bu.edu; (617) 358-7470

 

 

 

Susan Norris
Senior Policy Officer
norriss@bu.edu; (617) 38-7471

 

 

Paz_Melissa_HeadshotMelissa Paz, MA
Assistant Director, Academic Enhancement
mpaz@bu.edu; (617) 358-7455