Stanley L. Robbins Award for Excellence in Teaching

Jump to: NominationsPrevious Awardees

The Stanley L. Robbins Award for Excellence in Teaching is given each year at graduation to the outstanding educator at the School of Medicine.  The award was established in recognition of the excellence in teaching and devotion to students exemplified by Dr. Stanley L. Robbins, former Chair and Professor of Pathology at BUSM. This award serves to acknowledge the importance of teaching skills and commitment to students and education at BUSM.

This is a once in a lifetime award: previous awardees are not eligible. The award decision is made by a committee based on faculty and student nominations and input. Faculty may nominate themselves. Nominations will remain valid for three years.


Nominations for 2017 are now closed.

Nominations are accepted in January/February and may be submitted in writing or via e-mail. Nominations must include:

  • The nominee’s name
  • The nominee’s department
  • How you know the nominee
  • A detailed justification for the nomination addressing the nominee’s exemplary skill, leadership, creativity, mentoring and other intangible aspects of the work needed to accomplish our teaching mission.

Send Your Nomination To:
Rebecca Halley
Administrative Manager
Office of Academic Affairs, L-103

Previous Awardees

Recipients of the Stanley L. Robbins Award for Excellence in Teaching:

  • 1980 Dr. Stanley L. Robbins
  • 1981 Dr. William F. McNary, Jr
  • 1982 Dr. Benjamin Siegel
  • 1983 Dr. Lawrence Corwin
  • 1984 Dr. Lester Williams
  • 1985 Dr. Richard Hoyt, Jr.
  • 1986 Dr. Leonard Gottlieb
  • 1987 Dr. Robert Feldman
  • 1988 Dr. Dick A.J. Brown
  • 1989 Dr. Paul O’Bryan
  • 1990 Dr. Joel Caslowitz
  • 1991 Dr. Linda Wright
  • 1992 Dr. Warren Hershman
  • 1993 Dr. Douglas Rosene
  • 1994 Dr. Ravin Davidoff
  • 1995 Dr. Carol Walsh
  • 1996 Dr. James Menzoian
  • 1997 Dr. Benjamin Kaminer
  • 1998 Dr. Robert Beazley
  • 1999 Dr. Deborah Vaughan
  • 2000 Dr. George Rosenthal
  • 2001 Dr. Julie Sandell
  • 2002 Dr. Robert M. Levin
  • 2003 Dr. Mark Moss
  • 2004 Dr. Robert Lowe
  • 2005 Dr. Todd Hoagland
  • 2006 Dr. Steven Borkan
  • 2007 Dr. Stephanie Oberhaus
  • 2008 Dr. Douglas Hughes
  • 2009 Dr. Karen Symes
  • 2010 Dr. David McAneny
  • 2011 Dr. Carl O’Hara
  • 2012 Dr. Anna DePold Hohler
  • 2013 Dr. Shoumita Dasgupta
  • 2014 Dr. Miriam Hoffman
  • 2015 Dr. Lorraine Stanfield
  • 2016 Dr. John Otis
  • 2017 Dr. R. Jarrett Rushmore III