Evans Research Days- Oct 3 & 4, 2019


View Photos


The 34th Annual Evans Department of Medicine Research Days celebrated and showcased the research activities of the department’s faculty, trainees and researchers. This year’s event featured the 2nd year of the Poster Blitz, 24 3-minute oral presentations of some of this year’s most exciting submissions. The poster session featured 97 presentations, a record high for the event, and included digital poster displays in the newly remodeled entry lounge to the Hiebert Ball Room.

The Gala reception celebrated trainee winners of the Oral Presentations and Poster Session, and honored faculty recipients of the department’s annual awards. This year’s event saw the inaugural ARC Leadership Award presented by the Evans Center for Interdisciplinary Biomedical research and the inaugural David Aaron Freed award in memory of Aaron’s legacy of compassion and excellence.

Thank you to all who helped make this year’s event so special!

Award Winners

Evans Center IBR Research
Collaborator of the Year Award
Rhoda Au, PhD – Anatomy & Neurobiology
Inaugural ARC Leadership Award
Lindsay Farrer, PhD – Biomedical Genetics
Clinical Innovation Award
Palliative Medicine UnitSandhya D. Rao, MD -Team Lead
Henri Lee, MD
Perla Macip-Rodriguez, MD
Alexandra Dobie, LICSW
Jessica Knight, FNP-C, ACHPN
Amy L Cann, BS
Clinical Excellence Award
Won M. Lee, MD —Geriatrics
Junior Faculty Mentoring Award
Shayna Sarosiek MD —Hematology and
Medical Oncology
Jessica L Fetterman, PhD —Vascular Biology
Research Mentoring Award
Vipul C. Chitalia, MD, PhD –Nephrology
Citizenship Award
Thomas Ostrander, MD — General Internal Medicine
Gustavo Mostoslavsky, MD, PhD— Gastroenterology
 Clinical Quality Improvement Team Award
Antibiotic Stewardship TeamTamar F. Barlam MD – Team Lead
Karrine Brade PharmD – Co-Lead
Excellence in Educational Scholarship Mentoring
Catherine A. Rich, MD — General Internal Medicine
Special Recognition Teaching Award
Gopal Yadavalli, MD — Infectious Diseases
Inaugural David Aaron Freed Award
John Farrell — Biomedical Genetics
Most Abstract Submissions
Center for Regenerative Medicine (CReM)

Clinical Oral Presentation
1st Place: Maura Walker
2nd Place: Magdalena Buczek
3rd Place:  Simeon Kimmel
Basic Research Oral Presentation
1st Place:  Fatima Rizvi
2nd Place:  Jason Nasse
3rd Place:  Elissa Everton
 Clinical Poster Winners
1st Place: Mengjie Yuan
2nd Place: Feven Ataklte
3rd Place: Erika Crable
Basic Research Poster Winners
1st Place: Kristine Abo
2nd Place: Anukul Shenoy
3rd Place: Ayumu Osaki