WCVI News & Announcements

January 2020: Grant Announcement

January 2, 2020 Grant number: AHA SFRN35120118 Principle Investigator: Naomi Hamburg, MD Project title: Restoring vascular and endothelial health in patients with diabetes mellitus Project Period: 1/1/2020 – 12/31/2023


November 2019: News

November 25, 2019 Thank you to all who come and wished Dr. Sam farewell as she moves onto a new and exciting chapter in her career! Below is a copy of the wonderful speech she gave at the farewell celebration.  As I bid Adieu November 24, 2019 Evans Day Junior Faculty Mentoring Award for 2019... More


August 2019: Grant Announcement

August 15, 2019 Grant number: 1R01HL142650-01A1 Principal Investigator: Noyan Gokce Project title: Wnt signaling control of vascular phenotype in obesity Project Period: 8/16/2019 – 7/31/2024


June 2019: Grant Announcements

June 14, 2019 Grant Number: 1R01HL145985-01A1 Principal Investigator(s): Flora Sam, MD Project Title: Mechanistic underpinnings of increased adipose tissue in HFpEF Project Period: 07/01/2019 – 06/30/2023 June 14, 2019 Grant Number: 1R21AA026922-01A1 Principal Investigator(s):JINGYAN HAN, PHD Project Title: Alcohol-induced dysregulation of thiol homeostasis and endothelial function Project Period: 05/15/2019 – 04/30/2021


WCVI 2019 Pilot Grant Announcement 

WCVI 2019 Pilot Grant Announcement  Congratulations to David Pimentel, MD and Markus Bachschmid, PhD (who submitted a combined proposal) and Frank Naya, PhD (on the Charles River Campus) for having been awarded the 2019 WCVI Pilot awards. Each Award is worth $25,000 for one year.  “C-Terminal BNP as a novel marker of... More

Franco Puleo wins American Physiological Society’s Porter Fellowship

May 20, 2019 Franco Puleo, a PhD student in the Wainford Lab, has been awarded an American Physiological Society's Porter Fellowship that includes a full year stipend.  Project title: "Sympathetic nervous system regulation of the NCC in salt sensitive hypertension"   American Physiological Society's Porter Fellowship.  

Pilot Grant Announcement 2019

WCVI Pilot Grant The Whitaker Cardiovascular Institute (WCVI) seeks pilot projects from Investigators from the WCVI.  For more information about the pilot and how to apply, click here: WCVI pilot grant announcement 2019 Key Dates Full Application Receipt Deadline: May 1, 2019 Funding Decision Date: June 1, 2019 Funding Start Date: July 1, 2019 For questions contact Nancy Clinton at nclinton@bu.edu


April 2019: Grant Announcement

April 1, 2019 Grant Number: KO1HL143142-01A1 Principal Investigator: Jessica Fetterman, PhD Project Title: Relations of Mitochondrial genetic variation and function with atrial fibrillation Project Period: 4/1/2019 – 3/31/2024


March 2019: Jessica Fetterman, PhD

Grant Number: 1K01HL143142-01A1 FAIN: K01HL143142 Principal Investigator: Jessica Leann Fetterman, PhD Project Title: Relations of Mitochondrial Genetic Variation and Function with Atrial Fibrillation