Special Recognition Teaching Award

The Robert Dawson Evans Faculty Special Recognition Teaching Award was established in 1998. It recognizes “special contributions” by a faculty member to the educational mission of our department over time. It is intended to acknowledge the value of exemplary skill, leadership, creativity, mentoring and other intangible aspects of the work needed to accomplish our teaching mission across all levels of trainees in the department. The criteria of “special” is intentionally ill-defined in an attempt to be inclusive and open to rewarding exemplary teaching that may manifest itself across the myriad of microenvironments in which this work occurs.

This award is given by the Department of Medicine. Any member of the Department, resident, fellow, or faculty can nominate faculty for this award. The only requirement is that the nominee must have been on staff for at least five years.

Submit a Nomination 

Nominees are asked to comment on their special contributions to the educational mission of the department and to identify 3 additional persons who are familiar with their contributions. Letters of support are solicited from 3 individual identified plus the candidate’s section chief.

Past awardees (not eligible for nomination):

1998 – L. Jack Faling
1999 – Edward Alexander Robert Levin
2000 – Elihu Schimmel
2001 – Robert Witzburg
2002 – Thomas Barber
2003 – Sheilah Bernard and Steven Borkan
2004 – Helen Hollingsworth
2005 – Angela Jackson and Sharon A. Levine
2006 – John Schwartz and Eric H. Awtry
2007 – Robert C. Lowe
2008 – George J. Philippides
2009 – Lewis Weintraub and Jay D. Orlander
2010 – Harrison Farber
2011 – Anand Kartha
2012 – Christine Phillips
2013 – Katya Ravid
2014 – Shoumita Dasgupta
2015 – Frank Schembri
2016 – Teresa Cheng and Vassilis Zannis
2017 – Jennifer Siegel, MD and Lynn Moore, DSc
2018 – Eugene Kissin, MD
2019 – Gopal Yadavalli, MD