Outstanding Citizenship Awards

The Department of Medicine’s Outstanding Citizenship Award was established in 2009, and is intended to recognize the “Outstanding Citizenship” of a faculty member in our Department. Good citizenship is essential for any group to function optimally, establish a healthy, enjoyable work environment, and deal with problems that are unplanned but inevitable in an academic medical center.

This award is given by the Department of Medicine. Only a faculty member can nominate a peer for this award. Nominations should include contact information for 3 additional persons who can attest to the nominee’s good citizenship. The Awards Committee will also solicit a letter of support from the nominee’s section chief.

Submit a Nomination 

The Awards committee attempts to select one basic scientist and one clinician/or clinician scientist for this award annually.

Past awardees (not eligible for nomination):

2009 – George Rosenthal
2010 – Christine Campbell Reardon
2011 – Jason Worcester
2012 – Jane Liebschutz and Orian Shirhai, PhD
2014 – Henri Lee
2015 – Sheila Chapman
2016 – Amy Fitzpatrick
2017 – Gretchen A. Gignac, MD and Jude T. Deeney, PhD
2018 – Francesca Seta, PhD and Ricard Cruz, Jr. MD
2019 – Thomas Ostrander, MD and Gustavo Mostoslavsky, MD, PhD