Research Mentoring Award

The Department of Medicine Mentoring Award was established in 2007 and is intended to recognize “Excellence in Research Mentoring” by a faculty member in our Department over time. It is intended to acknowledge the value of mentoring trainees, junior faculty and peers in technical, scholarly, and other intangible aspects required for a successful career in laboratory, clinical, or population-based investigation.

This award is given by the Department of Medicine. Any member of the Department; resident, fellow or faculty can nominate faculty for this award. The only requirement is that the nominee must have been on staff for at least five years.

Submit a Nomination 

The Awards Committee will contact nominees and ask them to comment on their mentoring approach and identify 3 additional persons who know their contribution to mentorship. At least two of these should be former or current mentees. The committee will solicit letters of support from 3 colleagues identified by the nominee as well as the nominee’s section chief.

Past awardees (not eligible for nomination):

2007 – David T. Felson and Joseph A. Vita
2008 – Karen Freund and Lew Braverman
2009 – Rebecca Silliman and Vasan Ramachandran
2010 – Neil Ruderman
2011 – Emelia J Benjamin
2012 – Yuquing Zhang, Dsc
2013 – Jeffrey Samet
2014 – Darrell Kotton
2015 – Richard A Cohen
2016 – Tuhina Neogi
2017 – Joseph P. Mizger, ScD
2018 – Barbara A. Corkey PhD
2019 – Vipul C. Chitalia, MD, PhD