BU Chobanian & Avedisian SM Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Accessibility of the Year Award

BU Chobanian & Avedisian SM-DEIA of the Year Award recognizes BU Chobanian & Avedisian SM faculty and staff who has done an extraordinary job at addressing and improving diversity and a culture of inclusion, equity and accessibility throughout the BU Chobanian & Avedisian SM community.

More than one award allowed in a given year


  • BU Chobanian & Avedisian SM faculty and staff
  • Past recipients are not eligible

Criteria for nomination: Though these criteria are not exhaustive, competitive nominees will have demonstrated some of the following:

  • Promotes recruitment of diverse students, trainees, staff, and/or faculty
  • Mentorship and sponsorship of underrepresented faculty, staff, or students, including student groups
  • Creating or running programs designed to improve DEIA, including pathway programs
  • Educational Innovation in health inequities and/or inclusive pedagogy
  • Impactful scholarship/research on DEIA

Who can nominate: Faculty, Students and Staff

Nomination Process: A formal nomination letter addressing above criteria should be submitted to BU Chobanian & Avedisian SM Awards Committee. The nomination letter should not exceed one page with minimum font 11 point.


Past Award Recipients

Year Last Name First Name Degree
2022 Chapman Sheila MD