Angela Jackson Receives 2018 Jerome Klein Award

Dr. Jackson receives the Jerome Klein award from Dr. Davidoff.

Angela Jackson, MD, associate dean of student affairs, has been named the 2018 recipient of the Jerome Klein Award for Physician Excellence. Dr. Jackson, an associate professor of medicine, also serves as a general internal medicine physician at Boston Medical Center (BMC).

Established in 2010, the award commemorates Dr. Klein’s 50 years of service to BUSM/BMC and is presented annually to a physician who shares Dr. Klein’s attributes, including clinical and research excellence, leadership and dedicated commitment to education and mentoring.

Dr. Jackson has been a part of the Medical Campus for 30 years. She started as an intern at the former Boston City Hospital in 1989 and has not left the campus. She serves as Northeast Region Representative for the Association of American Medical Colleges Group on Student Affairs. In addition she was appointed by former Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius to serve on the Health Resources and Services Administration Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care and co-wrote the Committee’s report to Congress, Priming the Pump of Primary Care.

Dr. Jackson has served on 28 committees at BMC, the Department of Medicine and BUSM collectively– chairing eight of them. She has held integral roles along the continuum of education at BUSM/BMC and developed innovative curricula for students, residents and faculty.

“Angela has made an indelible impact on education, training, mentoring and clinical care.  (She) has constantly moved effortlessly between BMC and BUSM, and she continues to do so with a deep commitment to our patients and our mission,” said Ravin Davidoff, MBBCh, professor of medicine at BUSM and chief medical officer at BMC as he presented her the award.

Dr. Davidoff shared an excerpt of a nomination letter which read: “She has the gift of being transparent, forthright, generous, curious, trustworthy, competent and reliable … and where all students are recognized for the gifts and talents they bring to BUSM.”