Research Mentoring Award

The Department of Medicine Mentoring Award was established in 2007 and is intended to recognize “Excellence in Research Mentoring” by a faculty member in our Department over time. It is intended to acknowledge the value of mentoring trainees, junior faculty and peers in technical, scholarly, and other intangible aspects required for a successful career in laboratory, clinical, or population-based investigation.

This award is given by the Department of Medicine. Any member of the Department; resident, fellow or faculty can nominate faculty for this award. The only requirement is that the nominee must have been on staff for at least five years. Submit a nomination letter here.

The Awards Committee will contact nominees and ask them to comment on their mentoring approach and identify 3 additional persons who know their contribution to mentorship. At least two of these should be former or current mentees. The committee will solicit letters of support from 3 colleagues identified by the nominee as well as the nominee’s section chief.

Past awardees (not eligible for nomination):

2018  Barbara Corkey, PhD

2017  Joseph P. Mizgerd, ScD

2016  Tuhina Neogi, MD, PhD

2015  Richard A. Cohen, MD

2012  Yuqing Zhang, DSc

2011  Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM

2010  Neil Ruderman, MD, MPH

2009  Rebecca Silliman, MD, MPH, PhD and Ramachandran S. Vasan, MD

2008  Karen M. Freund, MD, MPH and Lewis Braverman, MD

2007  David T. Felson, MD, MPH and Joseph A. Vita, MD