Research Mentoring Award

The Department of Medicine Mentoring Award was established in 2007 and is intended to recognize “Excellence in Research Mentoring” by a faculty member in our Department over time. It is intended to acknowledge the value of mentoring trainees, junior faculty and peers in technical, scholarly, and other intangible aspects required for a successful career in laboratory, clinical, or population-based investigation.

This award is given by the Department of Medicine. Any member of the Department; resident, fellow or faculty can nominate faculty for this award. The only requirement is that the nominee must have been on staff for at least five years. Submit a nomination letter here.

The Awards Committee will contact nominees and ask them to comment on their mentoring approach and identify 3 additional persons who know their contribution to mentorship. At least two of these should be former or current mentees. The committee will solicit letters of support from 3 colleagues identified by the nominee as well as the nominee’s section chief.

Past awardees (not eligible for nomination):

2007 David T. Felson and Joseph A. Vita

2008 Karen M. Freund and Lewis Braverman

2009 Rebecca Silliman and Ramachandran S. Vasan

2010 Neil Ruderman

2011 Emelia J. Benjamin

2012 Yuqing Zhang

2015 Richard A. Cohen

2016 Tuhina Neogi

Share this

Where we’re from

Locations of visitors to this page