Socially Responsible Surgery

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Tracey Dechert, dechert@bu.edu

Faculty Members: Lisa Allee, Lisa.Allee@bmc.org Douglas Kauffman, douglas.kauffman@bmc.org

Resident Leaders: Maunil Bhatt, Maunil.Bhatt@bmc.org, Megan Janeway, Megan.Janeway@bmc.org, Ryan Macht, Ryan.Macht@bmc.org, Thiago Oliveira, Thiago.Oliveira@bmc.org  Tyler Robinson, Tyler.Robinson@bmc.org, Feroze Sidhwa, Feroze.Sidhwa@bmc.org

Student Leaders: Mike Gustin, (mgustin@bu.edu) Avital Mintz-Morgenthau, (avitalmm@bu.edu) Rachel Rivero,  (rrivero@bu.edu) Teresa Qi, (teresaqi@bu.edu) Denise Garofalo, (dgarofal@bu.edu) Michelle DenAdel, (mdenadel@bu.edu)

There are ways for students to get involved in SRS through journal club meetings and programs in advocacy, education, and research.

SRS Mission
Education
  • Introduce future generations of surgeons to concepts of disparities in surgical care and provide surgeons with the tools to advocate for their patients and communities.
  • Incorporate advocacy training into resident and medical student curricula
  • Participate in educational activities throughout the BUSM community across specialties
  • Partake in educational opportunities nationally and internationally

Research

  • Engage in research methods to better understand disparities in surgical care and access and design appropriate interventions to address these inequalities
  • Design and implement studies focused on the understanding of access to surgical care in our communities.
  • Identify deficiencies in existing databases and improve upon them by engaging with other local academic institutions.
  • Apply concepts derived from local research to identify principles that can be applied worldwide to understand disparities.
Advocacy
  • Strengthen the ability of surgeons to engage in political and social platforms to improve care of surgical patients. Encourage the allocation of resources towards addressing surgical inequalities.
  • Advocate for patients on a personal level within the doctor-patient relationship
  • Engage in meaningful dialogue within our institution and between other institutions.
  • Encourage participation in the formulation and evolution of healthcare policies that address access to surgical care.

Service

  • Expand our services to patients beyond providing surgical care and create a positive change within their sociocultural context and within their communities beyond the walls of our hospital.
  • Design and implement interventions to address inequalities in the health of our surgical patients.
  • Build multidisciplinary teams to address inequalities driven by community priorities and interests.
  • Serve our communities in meaningful ways that extend beyond surgical care.