Faculty

Corley_Ronald Ronald B. Corley, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Microbiology
Director, National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9177 · rbcorley@bu.edu
Immune responses; the innate-adaptive interface
Akiyama Hisashi Akiyama, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, R505 · 617-358-1773 · hakiyama@bu.edu
Molecular and cellular biology of HIV
anderson Deborah J. Anderson, Ph.D.
Professor of Obstetrics/Gynecology and Microbiology
670 Albany Street, Suite 516 · 617-414-8482 · Deborah.Anderson@bmc.org
Mucosal immunology in genital tissues; mechanisms of HIV-1 transmission
Browning2 Jeffrey L. Browning, Ph.D.
Research Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E520 · 617-638-4309 · browninj@bu.edu
Control of fibroblastoid stromal networks by the immune system
Cappione Jennifer Snyder-Cappione, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Director, Flow Cytometry Core Facility
650 Albany Street, X325 · 617-358-7733 · cappione@bu.edu
Immune cell exhaustion; iNKT cell differentiation; ex vivo cellular functional profiling
Colpitts_Tonya-2-5x3-5 Tonya Colpitts, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9182 · tmcol@bu.edu
Virus/Flavivirus pathogenesis, virus-host-vector interactions, dengue, Zika, arbovirus, mosquito-human immune cross-talk, transmission-blocking vaccines
Connor John H. Connor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9155 · jhconnor@bu.edu
Virus/Host interaction; viral domination of protein synthesis; antiviral compounds, systems biology of viral hemorrhagic fever, novel approaches to virus detection
Robert Davey, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9166 · radavey@bu.edu
Host factor-based therapy development and infection mechanism for filoviruses and other high containment viruses
Hans-Dooms-2-224x300 Hans Dooms, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E519 · 617-358-6595 · hdooms@bu.edu
T cell dysfunction and regulation in autoimmune disease
Florian Douam, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Peter Paul Career Development Professor
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9174 · fdouam@bu.edu

Molecular Mechanisms Regulating Human Immune Responses During Viral Infection
Fearns Rachel Fearns, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street, 501T · 617-358-9287 · rfearns@bu.edu
Control of respiratory syncytial virus RNA synthesis
Feng Feng Feng, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
700 Albany Street, W508C · 617-358-7676 · ffeng@bu.edu
Computational immunology; innate immunity; toll-like receptors and their transcriptional network
Galagan James Galagan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Microbiology
24 Cummington Mall, LSEB 1002 · 617-358-0695 · jgalag@bu.edu
Mycobacterium tuberculosis regulatory networks
Anthony Griffiths, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street, 503 · 617-358-2900 · ahgriff@bu.edu
Filovirus pathogenesis, animal model development, viral persistence and latency, advanced development of vaccines and therapeutics for high consequence pathogens
Gummuluru Suryaram Gummuluru, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice-Chair of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, R512 · 617-358-1774 · rgummulu@bu.edu
HIV immune evasion mechanisms
Henderson Andrew J. Henderson, Ph.D.
Professor Medicine and Microbiology
Assistant Dean, Division of Graduate Medical Sciences
650 Albany Street, X645 · 617-414-5240 · hender@bu.edu, andrew.henderson@bmc.org
Cellular signals that regulate HIV transcription and replication
Anna Honko, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor of Microbiology
Associate Director, Nonclinical Studies Unit,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street, NEIDL 401S · 617-358-9284 · honko@bu.edu
Hemorrhagic fever viral pathogenesis, animal model development, utilization of implantable telemetry for real-time physiologic data, advanced development of medical countermeasures
Hyman Linda E. Hyman, Ph.D.
Volunteer Professor of Microbiology
Burroughs Wellcome Director of Education, Marine Biological Laboratories
lhyman@mbl.edu
The fungal response to simulated microgravity
Ingalls Robin Ingalls, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X629 · 617-414-4778 · ringalls@bu.edu
Reproductive immunology and the pathogenesis of gonococcal and chlamydia infections
Kepler-T Thomas B. Kepler, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Director, Immunology Training Program
700 Albany Street, W508D · 617-358-5989 · tbkepler@bu.edu
Quantitative systems immunology; vaccine development
Kramnik Igor Kramnik, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director of the Aerobiology Core and Investigator,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street  · 617-358-9187 · ikramnik@bu.edu
Genes controlling host resistance and susceptibility to tuberculosis; biology of tuberculosis granulomas; mechanisms of macrophage activation and differentiation
Levin David E. Levin, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Molecular and Cell Biology, BUGSDM
Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E430 · 617-414-1057 · delevin@bu.edu
Stress signaling and cell wall biogenesis in fungi
Mizgerd Joseph P. Mizgerd, D.Sc.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director, Pulmonary Center
72 East Concord Street, R-3 · 617-358-1186 · jmizgerd@bu.edu
Acute lower respiratory tract infection; cytokines; innate immunity; neutrophil recruitment and activation; pneumonia; transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression
Mostoslavsky Gustavo Mostoslavsky, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
670 Albany Street, Room 209 · 617-358-1018 · gmostosl@bu.edu
Stem cell biology and gene therapy
Muhlberger Elke Mühlberger, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Director, Biomolecule Production Core,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9153 · muehlber@bu.edu
Host response to filovirus infection; molecular mechanisms of filovirus replication and transcription
Oberhaus Stephanie M. Oberhaus, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Co-Course Director, Disease and Therapy (BUSM MS 220, 221, 223, 224, 225, 226)
Course Director, Dental Microbiology & Immunology (SDM MD 515, GMS OH 740)
72 East Concord Street, R508 · 617-358-1777 · oberhaus@bu.edu
Medical and Dental Education
Quinton Lee Quinton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, R205 · 617-358-1087 · lquinton@bu.edu
Mechanisms of pulmonary defense and tissue protection during pneumonia
Rifkin Ian R. Rifkin, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X514 · 617-638-7325 · irifkin@bu.edu
Mechanisms responsible for the pathogenesis of systemic lupus erythematosus and lupus-associated atherosclerosis
Sagar Manish Sagar, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X647 · 617-414-5239 · msagar@bu.edu
HIV transmission pathogenesis and role of antibodies in protecting against infection
Samuelson John C. Samuelson, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, BUGSDM
Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E425 · 617-414-1054 · jsamuels@bu.edu
Glycobiology, cell biology, pathogenesis, and evolution of parasites that cause diarrhea, dysentery, malaria, blindness, and/or birth defects
Viglianti2 Gregory A. Viglianti, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Sciences
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L317 · 617-358-9543 · 617-358-9543 · gviglian@bu.edu
Molecular biology of HIV-1; the role of virus-host cell interactions in pathogenesis
Lee M. Wetzler, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director, Training Program in Inflammatory Disorders
650 Albany Street, X638 · 617-414-4394 · lwetzler@bu.edu
Vaccine development; microbial immunity and pathogenesis; effect of bacterial products on eukaryotic cells
Zamansky Glen B. Zamansky, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Premedical Studies
Associate Professor of Microbiology
100 Bay State Road · 617-353-4866 · gzamansk@bu.edu
Assistant Dean, Pre-medical Studies