Faculty

Corley_Ronald Ronald B. Corley, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X231C · 716-638-5959 · rbcorley@bu.edu
Immune responses; the innate-adaptive interface
Akiyama Hisashi Akiyama, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X343B · 617-358-1773 · hakiyama@bu.edu
Molecular and cellular biology of HIV
anderson Deborah J. Anderson, Ph.D.
Professor of Obstetrics/Gynecology and Microbiology
670 Albany Street, Suite 516 · 617-414-8482 · Deborah.Anderson@bmc.org
Mucosal immunology in genital tissues; mechanisms of HIV-1 transmission
Browning2 Jeffrey L. Browning, Ph.D.
Research Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E520 · 617-638-4309 · browninj@bu.edu
Control of fibroblastoid stromal networks by the immune system
Cappione Jennifer Snyder-Cappione, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X248C · 617-358-7733 · cappione@bu.edu
Immune cell exhaustion; iNKT cell differentiation; ex vivo cellular functional profiling
Daniel Cifuentes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Microbiology
71 East Concord Street, K420 · 617-358-4521 · dcb@bu.edu
Post-transcriptional regulation of RNA in virus and vertebrate systems
Colpitts_Tonya-2-5x3-5 Tonya Colpitts, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Boston University School of Medicine
Associate Director of Virology, Moderna, Inc
tmcol@bu.edu
Virus/Flavivirus pathogenesis, virus-host-vector interactions, dengue, Zika, arbovirus, mosquito-human immune cross-talk, transmission-blocking vaccines
Connor John H. Connor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9155 · jhconnor@bu.edu
Virus/Host interaction; viral domination of protein synthesis; antiviral compounds, systems biology of viral hemorrhagic fever, novel approaches to virus detection
Robert Davey, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9166 · radavey@bu.edu
Host factor-based therapy development and infection mechanism for filoviruses and other high containment viruses
Hans-Dooms-2-224x300 Hans Dooms, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Boston University School of Medicine
Assistant Professor, National Jewish Health
hdooms@bu.edu
T cell dysfunction and regulation in autoimmune disease
Florian Douam, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Peter Paul Career Development Professor
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9174 · fdouam@bu.edu
Molecular mechanisms regulating human immune responses during viral infection
Fearns Rachel Fearns, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street, 501T · 617-358-9287 · rfearns@bu.edu
Transcription and replication mechanisms of non-segmented negative strand RNA viruses
Anthony Griffiths, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street, 503 · 617-358-2900 · ahgriff@bu.edu
Filovirus pathogenesis, animal model development, viral persistence and latency, advanced development of vaccines and therapeutics for high consequence pathogens
Gummuluru Suryaram Gummuluru, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice-Chair of Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X343C · 617-358-1774 · rgummulu@bu.edu
Enveloped Virus Entry Mechanisms; Innate Immune Evasion Mechanisms; Inflammation & HIV; Nanotherapeutics
Henderson Andrew J. Henderson, Ph.D.
Professor Medicine and Microbiology
Assistant Dean, Division of Graduate Medical Sciences
650 Albany Street, X645 · 617-414-5240 · hender@bu.edu, andrew.henderson@bmc.org
Cellular signals that regulate HIV transcription and replication
Anna Honko, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor of Microbiology
Associate Director, Nonclinical Studies Unit,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street, NEIDL 401S · 617-358-9284 · honko@bu.edu
Hemorrhagic fever viral pathogenesis, animal model development, utilization of implantable telemetry for real-time physiologic data, advanced development of medical countermeasures
Adam Hume, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street, NEIDL 4 · 617-358-9151 · hume@bu.edu
Reverse genetic systems to study novel filoviruses; organoid modeling of viral infection
Hyman Linda E. Hyman, Ph.D.
Volunteer Professor of Microbiology
Burroughs Wellcome Director of Education, Marine Biological Laboratories
lhyman@mbl.edu
The fungal response to simulated microgravity
Ingalls Robin Ingalls, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X629 · 617-414-4778 · ringalls@bu.edu
Reproductive immunology and the pathogenesis of gonococcal and chlamydia infections
Kepler-T Thomas B. Kepler, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Director, Immunology Training Program
650 Albany Street, X248D· 617-358-5989 · tbkepler@bu.edu
Quantitative systems immunology; vaccine development
Kramnik Igor Kramnik, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director of the Aerobiology Core and Investigator,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street  · 617-358-9187 · ikramnik@bu.edu
Genes controlling host resistance and susceptibility to tuberculosis; biology of tuberculosis granulomas; mechanisms of macrophage activation and differentiation
Mizgerd Joseph P. Mizgerd, D.Sc.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director, Pulmonary Center
72 East Concord Street, R-3 · 617-358-1186 · jmizgerd@bu.edu
Acute lower respiratory tract infection; cytokines; innate immunity; neutrophil recruitment and activation; pneumonia; transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression
Gustavo Mostoslavsky, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
670 Albany Street, Room 209 · 617-358-1018 · gmostosl@bu.edu
Stem cell biology and gene therapy
Muhlberger Elke Mühlberger, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Director, Integrated Science Services
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9153 · muehlber@bu.edu
Host response to filovirus infection; molecular mechanisms of filovirus replication and transcription
Oberhaus Stephanie M. Oberhaus, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Co-Course Director, Disease and Therapy (BUSM MS 220, 221, 223, 224, 225, 226)
Course Director, Dental Microbiology & Immunology (SDM MD 515, GMS OH 740)
72 East Concord Street, R508 · 617-358-1777 · oberhaus@bu.edu
Medical and Dental Education
Quinton Lee Quinton, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Boston University School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical Center
lquinton@bu.edu
Mechanisms of pulmonary defense and tissue protection during pneumonia
Rifkin Ian R. Rifkin, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X514 · 617-638-7325 · irifkin@bu.edu
Mechanisms responsible for the pathogenesis of systemic lupus erythematosus and lupus-associated atherosclerosis
Sagar Manish Sagar, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X647 · 617-414-5239 · msagar@bu.edu
HIV transmission pathogenesis and role of antibodies in protecting against infection
Nancy Sullivan
Professor of Biology and Microbiology
Director, National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-358-9177 · njsull@bu.edu 
Adriana Tomic, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Microbiology
620 Albany Street, NEIDL 501P · 617-358-6861 · atomic@bu.edu
Systems immunology: Data-driven approaches to decipher viral-host interplay
Viglianti2 Gregory A. Viglianti, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Sciences
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L317 · 617-358-9543 · 617-358-9543 · gviglian@bu.edu
Lee M. Wetzler, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director, Training Program in Inflammatory Disorders
650 Albany Street, X638 · 617-414-4394 · lwetzler@bu.edu
Vaccine development; microbial immunity and pathogenesis; effect of bacterial products on eukaryotic cells