Faculty, Alumni and Students “Wine” Down at Mixer

COM-wine down event

Nearly 150 students, faculty and alumni gathered in Hiebert Lounge on Dec. 4 to mingle, network and spread holiday cheer. Although this event was established in 2016, this was the first time that alumni participated in the joint holiday mixer “Wine” Down After Rounds.

Student musical performances by the Doctors’ Notes entertained the gathering. The group includes members Tinu Bello ’20; Erin Carter ’21; Karthik Kovuru ’20; Al Nadjarian ’17; Tim Nguyen ’21; Anjeli Son ’20; Justin Siu ’20; Jeffrey Wang ’20; and Yelu Zhang ’20.

Radial Groove also performed, including these BUSM members: Caroline Apovian, MD; Anand Devaiah, MD; Rafael Ortega, MD; Andrea Alonso ’20; Liam Conway-Pearson ’20; Matt Kaufmann ’19; and Ben Weaver ’21.

“We were happy to be a part of this event and thank the students for inviting alumni to participate,” said Associate Dean for Alumni Affairs Jean Ramsey, MD ’90, MPH ’08 . “Alumni appreciate the opportunity to meet current students and share their stories. It was a fun time for all! I loved the a Capella version of ‘Hello’ by Adele.”

Alumni Association board members Dallas Reed, MD ’10 and Jason Sherer, MD ’16, agreed it was a great opportunity and thought it would be good to try twice a year.

In addition, faculty were recognized by student-voted awards prompted by the Student Committee on Medical School Affairs (SCOMSA), as a testament to the exceptional faculty who teach, guide and mentor throughout the year.

This year’s winners are:

The Challenger
Faculty member that continuously inspires and challenges students to do better both academically and within the community.
Tracey Dechert, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery

The Advocate
Faculty member that consistently inquires about the interests of the students and is diligent about making these interests known to the administration.
Doug Hughes, MD, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

The Illustrator
Faculty member that goes above and beyond inside the classroom by using illustrations, visual and otherwise, to ensure understanding of lecture concepts.
Lauren Stern, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine and Nephrology

The Patient Whisperer
Clinical faculty member that inspires and educates with their enthusiasm and experience in teaching clinical medicine.
Robert Lowe, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine

The Unsung Heroine
Faculty member that has made a positive impact in the lives of medical students both within and outside the classroom, but has largely gone unrecognized.
Stephanie Oberhaus, PhD, Assistant Professor of Microbiology

The Extra Miler
Faculty member that goes “the extra mile” both within and outside the walls of classrooms to improve the overall experience.
Deborah Vaughan, PhD, Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology and Assistant Dean for Admissions

Thank you to those who attended and congratulations to this year’s winners! To view photos from the event, visit the Facebook album.