Four Students Chosen as Massachusetts Medical Society Scholars for 2017

Four BUSM students are among 16 selected by the Massachusetts Medical Society as Massachusetts Medical Society Scholars for 2017. Each year, the Society selects four fourth-year students as MMS Scholars from each of the state’s four medical schools.  Those chosen receive $10,000.

Applicants were selected by their respective Massachusetts medical schools as meeting MMS award criteria that includes academic achievement, community service, and financial need. Four MMS Selection Committees — comprised of MMS officers, members of MMS education committees, representatives of the MMS student section, and Continuing Education & Certification staff — took into consideration each student’s Statement of Purpose, references, and interview.

Since the inception of the MMS Scholars Program in 1993, nearly $2 million have been granted to more than 200 students from Massachusetts medical schools.

The 2017 honorees, their previous academic achievements, and selected accomplishments:

people_circle_NAA Nadeem Abou-Arraj, A.B. in History, Harvard College. At Boston University, Alpha Omega Alpha and Gold Humanism Honor Society; Tutor in anatomy and neuroscience; Recipient, Global Health Summer Scholarship.
people_circle_VF Veronica A. Faller, B.S. in Biomedical Engineering, Boston University. Medical Student Peer Advisor and Student Leader of Outreach Van Project. As undergraduate, member of Engineering and Bioengineering honor societies. Vice President, Boston, Alpha Eta Mu Beta, National Bioengineering Honor Society.
people_circle_RM Robert McInnis, B.A., magna cum laude with honors in Psychology, Skidmore College. At Boston University, Alpha Omega Alpha and Medical Student Peer Advisor. First place, Medical Student Research Poster, Massachusetts Neurologic Association.
people_circle_PS Priya I. Shankar, B.A. magna cum laude, Political Science and South Asia Studies, University of Pennsylvania; M.P.H., Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. At Boston University, Gold Humanism in Medicine Award; Recipient, American Medical Women’s Association Scholarship.