Costello, Wolozin named 2016 AAAS Fellows

Catherine E. Costello, MS, PhD, and Benjamin L. Wolozin, MD, PhD, have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.


Costello was elected as an AAAS Fellow for her contributions to mass spectrometry, particularly developing and applying new technologies to advance medicine and increase understanding of biology, and for service to the global community. She is a William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Director at the Center for Biomedical Mass Spectrometry.

Elected for his contributions to molecular and translational neuroscience, particularly discovery of the role of cholesterol in Alzheimer’s disease, Wolozin is a professor in the Departments of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics and Neurology.

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 18 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass., where nearly 400 Fellows will be honored. The tradition of AAAS Fellows has been long standing since 1874.