Faculty

Corley_Ronald Ronald B. Corley, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Microbiology
Director, National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-638-4292 · rbcorley@bu.edu

Immune responses; the innate-adaptive interface

anderson Deborah J. Anderson, Ph.D.
Professor of Obstetrics/Gynecology and Microbiology
670 Albany Street, Suite 516 · 617-414-8482 · Deborah.Anderson@bmc.org

Mucosal immunology in genital tissues; mechanisms of HIV-1 transmission

Browning Jeffrey L. Browning, Ph.D.
Research Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street; E-5 · 617-638-0334 · browninj@bu.edu

Control of fibroblastoid stromal networks by the immune system
Cappione Jennifer Snyder-Cappione, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X325 · 617-414-5225 · cappione@bu.edu

Immune cell exhaustion; iNKT cell differentiation; ex vivo cellular functional profiling
Connor John H. Connor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
620 Albany Street · 617-638-0339 · jhconnor@bu.edu

Virus/Host interaction; viral domination of protein synthesis; antiviral compounds, systems biology of viral hemorrhagic fever, novel approaches to virus detection
Hans-Dooms-2-224x300 Hans Dooms, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E519 · 617-414-2506 · hdooms@bu.edu

T cell dysfunction and regulation in autoimmune disease
Duprex Paul Duprex, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Director of Cell and Tissue Imaging,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-638-4294 · pduprex@bu.edu

Paramyxovirus pathogenesis, vaccine development and virus-cell interactions
Fearns Rachel Fearns, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L502a · 617-638-4034 · rfearns@bu.edu

Control of respiratory syncytial virus RNA synthesis
Feng Feng Feng, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L519 · 617-638-4123 · ffeng@bu.edu

Computational immunology; innate immunity; toll-like receptors and their transcriptional network
Galagan James Galagan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Microbiology
24 Cummington Mall, LSEB 1002 · 617-358-0695 · jgalag@bu.edu

Mycobacterium tuberculosis
regulatory networks
Gummuluru Suryaram Gummuluru, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, R512 · 617-414-8075 · rgummulu@bu.edu

HIV immune evasion mechanisms
Henderson Andrew J. Henderson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X645 · 617-414-5240 · hender@bu.edu, andrew.henderson@bmc.org

Cellular signals that regulate HIV transcription and replication
Hyman Linda E. Hyman, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Associate Provost, Division of Graduate Medical Sciences
72 East Concord Street, L317 · 617-638-5320 · lhyman@bu.edu

The fungal response to simulated microgravity
Ingalls Robin Ingalls, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X629 · 617-414-4778 · ringalls@bu.edu

Reproductive immunology and the pathogenesis of gonococcal and chlamydia infections
Kepler-T Thomas B. Kepler, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L519 · 617-638-4124 · tbkepler@bu.edu

Quantitative systems immunology; vaccine development
Kramnik Igor Kramnik, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director of the Aerobiology Core and Investigator,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street  · 617-414-0344 · ikramnik@bu.edu

Genes controlling host resistance and susceptibility to tuberculosis; biology of tuberculosis granulomas; mechanisms of macrophage activation and differentiation
Levin David E. Levin, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Molecular and Cell Biology, BUGSDM
Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E430 · 617-414-1057 · delevin@bu.edu

Stress signaling and cell wall biogenesis in fungi
Mizgerd Joseph P. Mizgerd, D.Sc.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director, Pulmonary Center
72 East Concord Street, R-3 · 617-638-5201 · jmizgerd@bu.edu

Acute lower respiratory tract infection; cytokines; innate immunity; neutrophil recruitment and activation; pneumonia; transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression.
Mostoslavsky Gustavo Mostoslavsky, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
670 Albany Street, Room 209 · 617-638-6532 · gmostosl@bu.edu

Stem cell biology and gene therapy
Muhlberger Elke Mühlberger, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Director, Biomolecule Production Core,
National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-638-0336 · muehlber@bu.edu

Host response to filovirus infection; molecular mechanisms of filovirus replication and transcription
Murphy John R. Murphy, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Associate Director, National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratories
620 Albany Street · 617-638-6014

Structure of the diphtheria toxin repressor; diphtheria
Nikolajczyk Barbara S. Nikolajczyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L516A · 617-638-7019 · bnikol@bu.edu

Inflammation in human type 2 diabetes and type 2 diabetes complications, immunometabolism, inflammation in obesity-associated breast cancer
Oberhaus Stephanie M. Oberhaus, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Co-Course Director, Disease and Therapy (BUSM MS 220, 221, 223, 224, 225, 226)
Course Director, Dental Microbiology & Immunology (SDM MD 515, GMS OH 740)
72 East Concord Street, R508 · 617-414-4197 · oberhaus@bu.edu

Medical and Dental Education
Rifkin Ian R. Rifkin, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
650 Albany Street, X536 · 617-638-7325 · irifkin@bu.edu

Mechanisms responsible for the pathogenesis of systemic lupus erythematosus and lupus-associated atherosclerosis
Sagar Manish Sagar, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X647 · 617-414-5239 · msagar@bu.edu

HIV transmission pathogenesis and role of antibodies in protecting against infection
Samuelson John C. Samuelson, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, BUGSDM
Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, E425 · 617-414-1054 · jsamuels@bu.edu

Glycobiology, cell biology, pathogenesis, and evolution of parasites that cause diarrhea, dysentery, malaria, blindness, and/or birth defects
Shaik-Dasthagirisheb Yazdani B. Shaik-Dasthagirisaheb, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, L514 · 617-638-4288 · bashasy@bu.edu

Bacterial pathogenesis-host immune responses, Bacterial biofilms, Probioltics
Viglianti2 Gregory A. Viglianti, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
72 East Concord Street, R510 · 617-638-7790 · gviglian@bu.edu

Molecular biology of HIV-1; the role of virus-host cell interactions in pathogenesis
Wetzler Lee M. Wetzler, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Microbiology
650 Albany Street, X638 · 617-414-4394 · lwetzler@bu.edu

Vaccine development; microbial immunity and pathogenesis; effect of bacterial products on eukaryotic cells
Zamansky Glen B. Zamansky, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Premedical Studies,
Associate Professor of Microbiology
100 Bay State Road · 617-353-4866 · gzamansk@bu.edu

Assistant Dean, Pre-medical Studies
   
Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine