Pharmacology Student Receives Carl E. Rosow Award


Kendra Kobrin, MD, PhD, candidate in pharmacology, received the Carl E. Rosow Award for Pharmacology Education at the Department of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics reception held in September for new faculty and students.

Kobrin graduated summa cum laude from Boston University in 2008 with bachelor degrees in psychology and music. Following graduation, she spent a year as a research assistant in the Dermatology department at Roger Williams Medical Center before enrolling at Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM). As a second year student in the disease and therapy course, Kendra excelled in the neurology and psychology modules and joined the Department of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics for her dissertation work. In 2011 Kendra joined Dr. Gary Kaplan’s laboratory at the VA Hospital in Jamaica Plain, where her research focuses on neuronal morphological changes associated with extinction of opioid use and relapse to drug-seeking behavior in models.

“Kendra has excelled in both her medical and graduate pharmacology courses, serves as tutor coordinator for the disease and therapy course, and contributes to Pharmacology Department orientation and recruitment events. As the 2013 recipient of the Carl E. Rosow Award for Pharmacology Education, Kendra exemplifies the leadership and academic qualities we seek to foster in all of our graduate students. We are proud of Kendra’s accomplishments and enthusiastic about her bright future in research and medicine,” said Dr. David H. Farb, Professor and Chair of Pharmacology.

Dr. Carl Rosow, for whom the award is named, is an MD, PhD, BUSM graduate and Professor of Anesthesiology at Harvard Medical School. Since 1985 Dr. Rosow has honored his doctoral mentor Dr. Joseph Cochin, an internationally recognized authority on opioids, by teaching this subject to medical students in the second-year curriculum and donating his honorarium to the school. The Carl E. Rosow Award for Pharmacology Education serves both to honor graduate students for their excellence in teaching pharmacology and Dr. Rosow for his continued service to his alma mater and its students.

Submitted by Christina Cherel.