June 2011

in Uncategorized
June 3rd, 2011

Pathology & Laboratory Medicine News Items


  • Dr. Carl O’Hara is this year’s recipient of the prestigious Stanley L. Robbins Award for 2011.
    • The Stanley L. Robbins Award for Excellence in Teaching is given each year at graduation to the outstanding educator at the School of Medicine.  The award was established in recognition of the excellence in teaching and devotion to students exemplified by Dr. Stanley L. Robbins, former Chair and Professor of Pathology at BUSM. This award serves to acknowledge the importance of teaching skills and commitment to students and education at BUSM. This is a once in a lifetime award!
  • Michael H. A. Roehrl, M.D., Ph.D., has been invited by the German Scholars Organization (GSO) to a conference in Berlin, Germany, in June 2011. A small group of scientists from around the world with close ties to Germany will meet leaders from German politics (including the President and Cabinet Ministers), business, and academia to discuss strategies and policies to promote and grow top-level research and innovation in Germany and Europe
  • Congratulations to this year’s Russek Award recipients in the Department of Pathology:
    • First Prize- Jillian Richmond, Cruikshank Lab
    • Second Prize- Srimathi Srinivasan, Rahimi Lab
    • Honorable Mention- Rituparna Moitra, Remick Lab
    • Dr. Barbara Slacks says: Congratulations to the award winners, and thanks to everyone who submitted abstracts for the poster session.
  • June is PhD Qualifying Exams Month! This year May 31st will be the written part of the exam, June 8th and 9th the oral portion will take place. There are 5 students who will be taking their qualifying exams this season: Philip Bondzie, Evan Chiswick, Clarissa Koch, Jed Mahoney and David Stepien. The faculty working with this group of candidates is: Drs. Krzysztof Blusztajn, Bohdana Burke, Ivana Delalle, Nader Rahimi, Daniel Remick, Jackie Sharon, Barbara Slack, Jay Mizgerd and Susan Winandy. Good Luck to all! Thank you to Dr. Bohdana Burke again for her continuing excellent efforts coordinating the Qualifying Exams!
  • The American Board of Pathology has invited Dr. Martin Kroll to serve as a member designate on the Test Development and Advisory Committee on Chemical Pathology for 2012
  • Caitlin Leibowitz, 1st year graduate student in the Kurosawa Lab was awarded a research grant from the Boston University Mallory Research Fund for her project entitled: Establishment of mouse models for Escherichia coli infection and Shiga toxin type-2 challenge for studies that address systemic Shiga toxin distribution and organ damage in vivo.   Caitlin is finishing her first year of graduate studies in the Pathology Department and this award reflects her outstanding talent and passion for scientific research.
  • Srimathi Srinivasan, 3rd year PhD candidate in the Rahimi Lab has her abstract accepted for poster presentation in Gordon Research Conference. The title of her poster is “The PDCL3/CCT chaperonin complex regulates angiogenesis through the generation of functional VEGFR-2” held June 19-24 2011 in New Hampshire
  • Srimathi Srinivasan, 3rd year PhD candidate in the Rahimi Lab has also been awarded a travel award by Boston University GMS office for her work to be presented at Gordon Research Conference, June 19-24 2011 in New Hampshire
  • Carmen Sarita-Reyes, MD has let me know that the abstract titled “Intrauterine Death in the Second and Third Trimester of Pregnancy Associated to Umbilical Cord Hypercoiling and Hypocoiling” was accepted for CAP 2011. Authors: Opoku Adjapong, Sandra Cerda and Carmen D. Sarita-Reyes

Publications ACCEPTED:

  • Michael Roehrl, MD has a paper accepted: Roehrl MHA* and Farraye FA. Capillary “Esophageal hemangioma in a patient with systemic sclerosis and gastric antracl vascular extasia”. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy 2011 (in press). *Corresponding author. (Journal IF: 6.713)
  • Resident, Dr. Miriam Alexander has a paper accepted for publication in the American Journal of Kidney Disease: “Crescentic Renal Alpha Heavy Chain Deposition Disease: A Report of Three Cases with Review of Literature” M. Alexander, S. Nassr and H. Rennke
  • Dr. Lija Joseph has a piece accepted for publication in Circulation: Shenouda SM, Widlansky ME, Chen K, Xu G, Holbrook M, Tabit CE, Hamburg NM, Frame AA, Caiano TL, Kluge MA, Duess M-A, Levit A, Kim B, Hartman M-L, Joseph L, Shirihai OS, Vita JA. “Altered mitochondrial dynamics contributes to endothelial dysfunction in diabetes mellitus.” Circulation (in press).