COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus): Please click here for FAQs: Impact of COVID-19 on Human Subjects Research

IRB Personnel Directory

red_square.gif (813 bytes)   Director of IRB

Jamie Merrill, MPH, CIP, IRB Director
jcm57@bu.edu – (617) 358-6557

red_square.gif (813 bytes)   IRB Chairs

James Feldman, MD, MPH, (Chair, Panel Blue)
jfeldman@bu.edu – (617) 414-5972

Eric Devine, PhD (Vice Chair, Panel Blue; Vice Chair, Panel Green)
Eric.Devine@bmc.org – (617) 638-7888

Sanford Auerbach, MD (Chair, Panel Red; Vice Chair, Panel Orange)
sauerbac@bu.edu – (617) 638-8456

Stephen I. Pelton, MD (Chair, Panel Green)
spelton@bu.edu – (617) 414-7407

David Kaufman, Sc.D. (Chair, Panel Orange)
dwk@bu.edu – (617) 734-6006

red_square.gif (813 bytes)   IRB Administrative Staff

Emily A. Crowley, BS, MPH, CIP, IRB Administrator
eacrow@bu.edu – (617) 358-6558

Lin Themelis, BA, MA, CIP, IRB Administrator
lint@bu.edu – (617) 358-5302

Mark Testerman, BS, CIP, Senior IRB Analyst II (Panel Green)
marktes@bu.edu – (617) 358-5365

Daly Franco, BA, Senior IRB Analyst (Panel Blue)
francod4@bu.edu – (617) 358-0828

Brandon Finn, BA, IRB Analyst (Panel Orange)
brandonf@bu.edu – (617) 358-5301

Carolyn Swain, MPH, IRB Analyst
cvswain@bu.edu – (617) 358-6556

Roz Schomer, IRB Reliance Specialist
roz@bu.edu – (617) 358-5329

Annette Wingard, IRB and OCR Administrative Secretary
awingard@bu.edu – (617) 358-5372

Khaled Khattar, BBA, IRB Application Administrator and Website Editor
kkhattar@bu.edu – (617) 358-5351

The BMC/BU Medical Campus IRB Offices are located at:
72 E Concord Street, Robinson 4 – Suite 414
Main number: (617) 358-5372
Fax number: (617) 358-5336
Office Hours:  8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., M-F

*As the IRB Office staff are all working remotely (assigned to COVID-19 testing Category 4), IRB Office Drop-In Hours have been cancelled until further notice. Please send an email to medirb@bu.edu if you require assistance (including setting up Zoom meetings as needed); or call 617-358-5372.

Map and Directions to 72 E Concord Street
Directions to Robinson 414