Past and Present Lab Members

-

Visit Photo Gallery

-

Principal Investigator:

Katya Ravid, Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry, Boston University School of Medicine

Dr. K. Ravid, trained at the Technion and MIT, is an Established Investigator with the American Heart Association, has served on editorial and advisory boards and on ASH and Purines Scientific Committees, chaired local and national conferences, such as the Gordon Research Conference on cell biology of megakaryocytes and platelets, and is the recipient of several Awards in recognition of research and teaching, such as Boston University School of Medicine Educator of the Year Award in Graduate Medical Sciences, Sidney University Professorship Award, and the Weizmann Institute Rosi and Max Varon Professorship Award.

Founding Director, Evans Center for Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research(http://www.bumc.bu.edu/evanscenteribr/)

Scientific Director, Transgenic Research Resource Center (www.bu.edu/coreshttp://www.bu.edu/cores)

Training Program Director, NHLBI-funded Training Program in Cardiovascular Biology (www.bumc.bu.edu/cardiograd)

Quote:

“Successful And enjoyable science is born out of creativity, tenacity And generosity!” (Katya Ravid)

e-mail: kravid@bu.edu

Past and Current Trainees Pre or Post Training Period E-mail Prior Academic Degree(s) Current Position (past trainees)Source of Support (current trainees)
Degree(s) Institution(s)
Chen, Wen-Che Pre 1994-1997 MSDMD Harvard School of Public Health General Dentistry, Irvine CA
Frances, Cynthia Post 1996-2000 cef609@hotmail.com PhD Boston University School of Medicine Proctor & Gamble (consultant)
Sun, Shishinn Post 1995-1999 shishinn@hotmail.com PhD St. John University, NY Investigator, Assistant Professor,North Shore-Long Island Jewish Research InstitutePhytochemical LabManhasset, NY
Thompson, Alex P Pre P 1995-1999 alex.thompson@qub.ac.uk MS University of Coleraine, Ireland Lecturer, Haematology Research Group, Centre for Cancer Research & Cell Biology (CCRCB),Queen’s University ofBelfast Northern Ireland
Zhao, Zhi-Hui Post 1994-2000 zhihuizhao@hotmail.com MD/PhD Beijing Med. Univ., China Assistant Professor ofMedicine, BUSM
Zimmet, Jeffrey P Pre P(MD/PhD) 1995-1998 jeffrey.zimmet@va.gov BS Wesleyan Univ., CT Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine, Univ California San Francisco; Interventional Cardiology, San Francisco VAMC
Cataldo, Leah Post 1995-1997 leah_cataldo@bbns.org PhD University of Massachusetts Biology/ Science Department Chair, Buckingham Browne & Nichols School, Cambridge, MA
Hechler, Beatrice Post 1998-2000 beatrice.hechler@efs-alsace.fr PhD INSERM U.311Etablissement Français du Sang-AlsaceStrasbourg, FR. Faculty Researcher, INSERM,France
Pierron, Anne Pre(MA) 2001 anne.pierron@libertysurf.fr BA University of Nice,France Research Associate,University of Nice, France
Jones, Matthew P Pre P 1999-2003 mattj@bu.edu BA University of Delaware Assistant Professor, Pulmonary Center, BUSM
Kaluzhny, Yulia Pre 1996-2001 yulia_kaluzhny@yahoo.com MS Moscow State Institute, Moscow, USSR Senior Scientist,MatTek Corp.,Ashland, MA
Lu, Jun P Pre 1997-2003 jun.lu@yale.edu MSc Nanjing University, Nanjing, P.R. China Assistant Professor, Yale School of Medicine
Wang, Zhengyu P Pre 1994-1998 zwang51@jhmi.edu BS East China University of Chem. Technology Associate Professor of Medicine, John Hopkins Medical School
Yaar, Ron Pre(MD/PhD) 1998-2002 ryaar@bu.edu BSc Boston University Assistant Professor, Dermatopathology, Boston Medical Center
Zhang, Ying P Pre 1998-2003 thinkhead23@yahoo.com MSc Univ. Science & Technol, Hefei, China, BSC, 1979, Shanghai Inst. of Biochemistry Instructor of Medicine, BUSM; CEO of a start-up
Dharmaraj, Chinnappan Post 1999-2000 Dharmaraj.Chinnappan@astrazeneca.com PhD All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India Research Scientist, Astrazeneca, Westborough, MA
Nguyen, Hao G. Pre(MD/PhD) 2001-2005 hmdnguyen@ucdavis.edu BA Univ. of Cal. Berkely Resident in Surgery, Univ. California Davis Medical Center
 Guangyao Yu Post 2000-2002 MD, PhD Henan Medical University, Zhengzhou, Henan, China (MD; Tongji Medical University, China (PhD) Research Scientist,Tetralogic Pharmaceuticals, Malvern, PA
(**) St.Hilaire, Cynthia P Pre P 2004-2008 sthilairec@nhlbi.nih.gov BS Univ. of Vermont Research Fellow, NHLBI, Center for Molecular Medicine
(**) McCrann, Donald J. P Pre P 2004-2008 djmccrann@gmail.com BS Yale University Scientist
IDEXX Laboratories
Westbrook, ME
Liu, Kenian Post 2005-2006 kenian110@yahoo.com PhD Univ. of ArkansasMed Sci Lab Director, Bireference Labs, NJ
Makitalo, Maria Pre(MA courses) 2004-2007 maria_makitalo@hotmail.com M.Sc. Umea University, Sweden Ph.D student at Lulea University of Technology, Sweden
Rier, Andrea Undergraduate Summer 2005 arier@bu.edu BS Virginia University Resident, Internal Medicine, PA
Rodriguez, David Undergraduate Summer 2006 rodzdavid@hotmail.com University of Texas, El Paso In Medical School, BUSM
Yang, Dan Post 2004-2009 Dan.Yang@nih.gov MD/PhD San Yat-Sen and Hunan Univ., China Researcher, NIH
Papadantonakis, Nikolaos Post 2006-2010 noxania@gmail.com BS, Molecular BiologyMD University Gasglow,University of Crete Resident, Internal Medicine, Jacobi Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of MedicineHematology/Oncology Fellowship, Cleveland Clinic
Burridge, Kelley A. Post 2010 kelleyb@bu.edu PhD, Biomedical Engineering Boston University Researcher, FDA
Eliades, Alexia Pre 2007-2011 aeliades@bu.edu BS University of Athens, Greece The University of Manchester, Paterson Institute for Cancer Research, Post-Doctoral Fellow
Bhupatiraju, Ajoy Post 2010-2011 abhupati@bu.edu PhD All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India
Chen, Hongjie Post 2007-2011 hongjie.chen@mssm.edu PhD Chinese Academy of Sciences Instructor, Genetics and Genomic Sciences, Mt.Sinai Medical School
Mi, Rongjuan Post 2012-present rongjuan@gmail.com PhD Ph.D. 2008 Clemson University, Clemson, SC In Dr. Ravid’s lab
Carroll, ShannonP Pre 2009-2014 scarrollbu@gmail.com, shb@bu.edu BS, MS University of Arizona Post-Doctoral Fellow, Harvard Medical School
Johnston-Cox, HillaryP Pre(MD/PhD) 2009-2014 hjcox@bu.edu B.S. Biochemistry and Chemistry UC San Diego Icahn SOM at Mount Sinai, NYC, NY, Residency, Medicine, Research Track
Eisenstein, Anna Pre(MD/PhD) 2010-present aeisenst@bu.edu BA, Biochemistry Middlebury College In Dr. Ravid’s lab
Koupenova-Zamor, MilkaP Post 2005-2010 (Pre)P2010-present (Post) milka@bu.edu, mkzamor@gmail.com
BS, PhD Univ. of Cal.Los Angeles , BUSM In Dr. Ravid’s lab
Matsuura, Shinobu Post 2011-present shinobu@bu.edu DVM, PhD DVM: Universidade de Sao Paulo, Escola de Medicina Veterinaria e Zootecnia;
PhD: University of Tokyo, Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, Department of Veterinary Internal Medicine
In Dr. Ravid’s lab
Patterson, Shenia Pre (MD/PhD) 2012-present spatter4@gmail.com BS Spelman College In Dr. Ravid’s lab
Frame, Alissa Pre (MD/PhD) 2014-present aframe@bu.edu BSc Middlebury College In Dr. Ravid’s lab
Toatley, Briana K. Pre Summer 2014 btoatley@students.asurams.edu BA Albany State University In Dr. Ravid’s lab

 

 

PThese students are recipients of the first or second awards for thesis work -BUSM Russek Award for Excellence.  Jeffrey Zimmet is also a recipient of Boston University President’s Award for graduate studies.  Zhengyu Wang is a recipient of the BUSM Dean’s Award for Ph.D. thesis work.

 

Students from Greece in Dr. Ravid’s lab

Starting in 2012

Student Number: Name: Summer spent in lab: School attended in Greece: Email address:

1.

Alexandra Koutsolelou

summer of 2012

University of Athens, Biology

Electraki.lel@gmail.com

2.

Efstratios Kofopoulos – Lymperis

summer of 2012

University of Crete, Medicine

Speader_plasma@hotmail.com

3.

Emmanouela Tsagkaraki

summer of 2013

University of Crete, Medicine

Emmanutsa17@gmail.com

4.

Michail Kontakis

summer of 2013

University of Crete, Medicine

Kontomixalis@yahoo.gr

5.

George Kalarakis

summer of 2014

University of Crete, Medicine

kagiorgos@gmail.com

6.

Eleni Terezaki

summer of 2014

University of Crete, Medicine

med2964@edu.med.uoc.gr

 


Contact|Directory|BUMC
August 12, 2014
Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine