Alumni – BUOSAA

Greetings to all!  The AAOS Annual meeting is coming up in Las Vegas and, as in recent years, we are again having an Alumni Reception on Thursday, March 14th, 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, at The Venetian, Marco Polo Room 702 to get everyone together.  This past year, we graduated another stellar class and have added seven more members to the BUOSAA membership:

Margert Cooke, MD:  Hand Fellowship, Hospital for Special Surgery, New York

Jesse Dashe, MD:  Hand Fellowship, UC Irvine, CA

Robert Parisien, MD: Sports Fellowship, Boston University

Kenny McAlpine, MD: Adult Reconstruction Fellowship, Boston University

Anthony Orio, MD:  Adult Reconstruction Fellowship, New York University Hospital

Sports Fellow:  Mohit Kukreja, MD: Spine Fellowship, MedStar Union Memorial Hospital

Spine Fellow:  Harish Kempegowda, MD:  Sports Medicine Fellowship, Lenox Hill Hospital


Department Activities:

This past year, in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, we continue to try improve patient care and efficiency.  We have successfully initiated the Screen Access resources Follow-up Elective Surgery (SAFE) Program for the preoperative work up of all elective patients.  Additionally, we have begun collecting patient reported outcomes electronically for elective cases.  As far as efficiencies in clinic, we are using RSA technology to identify patient flow issues as well as internally monitor patient satisfaction.  In August, Kenny McAlpine, MD started as the 1st  Adult Reconstruction Fellow, under the Directorship of Dr. Eric Smith, Associate Professor Boston University School of Medicine .  It has been a pleasure to have Kenny as the first fellow.

At the Annual Hand Society meeting in Boston this past fall, we were able to get many of the alumni together for drinks on Friday night and it was exciting to catch up with many of you.

Last October, Boston Medical Center finalized the campus consolidation.   The University Hospital, 88 E. Newton Street, was officially closed and consolidated into one main campus.  With the renovations complete the OR’s and individual private rooms on the floor are up and running.  Despite the changes, we are still doing orthopaedic trauma in room 6.



At graduation in June 2018, Dr. Joshua Jacobs, MD was the 10th Annual G. Richard Paul, MD Distinguished lecturer for the Symposium.   Dr. Jacobs has served as a past President of the Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and is the current Chairman at Rush University.  Dr. Jacobs is an expert in materials in total joint arthroplasty and gave an outstanding presentation entitled “Tribocorrosion: Concepts and Clinical Manifestations”.

The graduating Chiefs were honored in the usual ceremony and Dr. Xinning “Tiger” Li was awarded the Robert E. Leach, MD Resident Teaching Award.  The Outstanding Resident Research Award was awarded to Margaret Cooke for the project “Open Ankle Fractures: What Predicts Infection? A multi-center study”.  The Lahey Resident Research award was received by Eric Chen for the project “Correlation Between 24-Hour Pre-discharge Opioid Use and Amount of Opioids Prescribed at Hospital Discharge”.



In October 2018, Steven L. Haddad, MD, Professor of Orthopedic Surgery and President of the Orthopaedic Learning Center, Illinois Bone and Joint Institute, LLC was our 20th Leach Visiting Professor.  Dr. Haddad is one of the nation’s premier foot and ankle surgeons.  His keynote lecture entitled: “Total Ankle Arthroplasty in 2018: Making the Unpredictable Predictable” was exceptionally good and received high praise from Dr. Leach himself.



In April 2018, Marc R. Safran, MD, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chief, Division of Sports Medicine at Stanford University Medical Center was our 4th Einhorn Visiting Professor.  Dr. Safran came to Boston University and discussed hip preservation and hip arthroscopy.  To conclude the symposium his Keynote Lecture entitled “The Athlete’s Hip”  highlighted the progress made and future directions of hip disorders in the athlete.



BUOSAA Annual Alumni Reception

Our annual reception at the AAOS Annual Meeting will be held on Thursday, March 14th from 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm at The Venetian, Marco Polo Room 702.


5th Annual Einhorn Visiting Professorship

Date:  Friday, May 10, 2019


Symposium: 1:30 pm – 5:00 pm, Bakst Auditorium, A Building

BU School of Medicine, 72 E. Concord Street


Visiting ProfessorDaniel S. Horwitz, MD

Chief of Orthopaedic Trauma

Geisinger Health System


11th Annual G. Richard Paul, MD Distinguished Lectureship & Symposium

Boston University Medical Center and Boston Harbor Hotel

Date: Friday, June 14, 2019


Symposium: 8:00 am – 11:45 am, Lobby Auditorium, Room L112

BU School of Medicine, 72 E. Concord Street


Visiting ProfessorGeorge J. Haidukewych, MD

Orlando Health Orthopedic Institute

Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Group



Dues are the lifeline of the organization.  We are in need of growing our organization and financial support is greatly appreciated so we can continue to have alumni events, like the one we did in Boston for the Hand Society.  Please send checks to:

BUOSA Alumni

c/o Ellen Mulvey

850 Harrison Ave.

Dowling 2N

Boston, MA 02118


Enclosed is a statement for 2019.  Thank you for your support and representing Boston University Orthopaedic Surgical Associates Alumni.