Congratulations to Dr. Olga Gursky for receiving an NIH grant to study “Structural stability and functional remodeling of high-density lipoproteins”

July 9th, 2013

Congratulations to Dr. Olga Gursky for receiving a new RO1 grant to study “Structural stability and functional remodeling of high-density lipoproteins”.

A Surface for Poliovirus Replication – Manuscript Accepted for Publication by the Journal of Molecular Biology

April 4th, 2013

Surface For Catalysis by Poliovirus RNA-dependent RNA Polymerase
by Jing Wang, John M Lyle, and Esther Bullitt

Jing received her PhD in the Bullitt lab in May 2012. Congratulations!

Welcome New Researchers: Dr. Chelsea Epler, Dr. Alan Huang, Dr. Shigeru Komaba and Dr. Hiroshi Tokuo

March 6th, 2013

Dr. Chelsea Epler will be working in the Bullitt lab investigating type III secretion and virus replication.

Dr. Alan Huang is a biochemist and molecular biologist who has gained biophysical expertise during the last ten years in the Wang lab.

Dr. Shigeru Komaba, also in the Coluccio laboratory, is studying the role of myosin I in the association of transporters with the actin cytoskeleton at the cell membrane.

Dr. Hiroshi Tokuo will be working with Dr. Coluccio investigating the role of myosin I in cell-cell contact; and myosin X in the formation of filopodia.

Welcome New Faculty Members: Dr. Lynne Coluccio and Dr. Albert Wang

March 6th, 2013

Dr. Lynne Coluccio joins us from Boston Biomedical Research Institute to continue her work on the role of class I myosins in the inner ear.

Dr. Albert Wang joins us from Boston Biomedical Research Institute to continue his work on regulation of the actin cytoskeleton in smooth muscle and non-muscle cells.

Congratulations to the Class of 2012: Click here for photos

May 21st, 2012


2012 Commencement ceremony. From left to right Dr. Esther Bullitt, Dr. Jeffrey W.
Brown, MD, PhD, Dr. David Atkinson, Dr. Jing Wang, Dr. Xiaohu Mei, Dr.
Eileen Krenzel-Rojas, Miss Delia Krenzel-Rojas, Dr. James Hamilton, and
Dr. Jamie McKnight (not shown; Dr. Laura Packer, Dr. Ning Hua, and Dr. Matthew Mitsche).

Additional photos:






2011 Department Retreat

October 6th, 2011

The achievements of Professor Donald M. Small were celebrated at the annual Department Retreat, with a symposium held on October 1, 2011 at the Commonwealth Museum.  A few photos of the event are shown below.  For more photos, go here.






August 17th, 2011

We would like to welcome incoming Fall graduate students; Andrew Bogorad, Madhurima Das, Melyorise Sepulveda-Chervony, Zhi Yang.

Congratulations to Dr. Judith Saide

June 2nd, 2011

BUSM Educator of the Year, Basic Sciences


Congratulations to the Class of 2011

June 1st, 2011

Photos of this year’s graduates:





Congratulations to Osamu Shimomura!

February 26th, 2010

A winner of the 2008 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his research on green fluorescent protein.

Osamu Shimomura, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Department of Physiology and Biophysics


(Photo courtesy of SiPA Press, Inc.)

July 9, 2013
Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine