Nick Frame has his first paper in press!

February 29th, 2016

Structure of Serum Amyloid A Suggests a Mechanism for Selective
Lipoprotein Binding and Functions: SAA as a Hub in Macromolecular
Interaction Networks” by Nicholas Frame and Olga Gursky has been accepted
for publication in FEBS Letters.

A new podcast from PhD candidate Daniel Taub!

February 9th, 2016

A new podcast from PhD candidate Dan Taub, discusses what we learn from model systems. Listen to him tell us about yeast and frogs – more to come.

Here’s the link to the podcast.

The Department of Physiology and Biophysics welcomes two new faculty: Michael Rynkiewicz and Clint Makino!

January 27th, 2016

Madhurima Das is the first co-author in a featured publication in the Journal of Molecular Biology!

January 25th, 2016

Madhurima Das, Christopher J. Wilson, Xiaohu Mei, Thomas E. Wales, John R.
Engen, and Olga Gursky, Structural Stability and Local Dynamics in Disease-Causing Mutants of
Human Apolipoprotein A-I: What Makes the Protein Amyloidogenic?

The JMB scientific editor writes:” For your featured article, normally we
would have a commentary, but since the editor liked the paper so much he
recommended we commission a full scale review to be associated with your
paper… It is a bit unusual, but I hope you will enjoy reading it.”

New review article published on cellular membrane and lipid changes that occur upon infection with poliovirus by Jie E. Yang, Evan D. Rossignol, Esther Bullitt

October 13th, 2015

The Role of Electron Microscopy in Studying the Continuum of Changes in Membranous Structures during Poliovirus Infection

Viruses 20157(10), 5305-5318; doi:10.3390/v7102874 (registering DOI)

Poliovirus infection results in the proliferation of membranous vesicles. The structure and function of these vesicles vary spatially and temporally throughout the viral replication cycle.


Former PhD student and now doctor Lorenzo Finci in a spotlight in Cell: “The emerging postdoc culture in China”.

July 8th, 2015

The Emerging Postdoc Culture in China

In summer 2015, Lorenzo Finci accepted his next postdoctoral position at a
top school in China. He will learn single particle cryo-electron
microscopy in the lab of Yigong Shi, the Dean of the School of Life
Sciences at Tsinghua University.

Grad Student Melyorise Sepulveda-Chervony walks at BU Graduation!

May 19th, 2015

Student Melyorise Sepulveda-Chervony is shown below with her research adviser, Prof. Jamie McKnight after attending graduation.



Grad Student Nathan Meyers successfully defends his Ph.D. Thesis!

May 19th, 2015

Nathan Meyers cuts a piece of celebratory cake after successfully defending his Ph.D. Theis seminar entiled “Interfacial Properties of the Apolipoprotein Cs: Implications for the Regulation of Lipoprotein Metabolism and Atherosclerosis”




Two faculty members in Physiology & Biophysics receive 2015 Educator of the Year Awards!!

May 11th, 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Judith D. Saide on her 2015 Educator of the Year
Award in Pre-clinical Sciences!

Congratulations to Dr. C. James McKnight on his Educator of the Year Award in
Graduate Medical Sciences Doctoral Degree Programs!


Prof. Esther Bullitt and Dr. Chelsea Epler featured in BU Today Article

April 28th, 2015

In it’s 4-part series, “Making Research Work”, BU Today turns to investigators Esther Bullit and Chelsea Epler in their article Too Many Postdocs, Too Little Funding to discuss alternatives to academic careers for post-doctoral researchers.  Please click on the link below for the full article.

Too Many Postdocs, Too Little Funding

February 29, 2016
Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine