Archive for the ‘Graduate Student News’ Category

Congratulations to Sami Hiemer for her “Paper of the Week” in JBC

Saturday, May 10th, 2014

Congratulations to Sami Hiemer in the Varelas laboratory for her paper being selected as “Paper of the week” in The Journal of Biological Chemistry. Her author profile is here: JBC. Aleks Szymaniak from the Varelas lab is a co-author on the work.

Full text of the article is here:

The transcriptional regulators TAZ and YAP direct Transforming Growth Factor-beta-induced tumorigenic phenotypes in breast cancer cells.
Hiemer SE, Szymaniak AD, Varelas X.
J Biol Chem. 2014 Mar 27. [Epub ahead of print]

Larry Pessolano receives ATVB Travel Award

Monday, May 5th, 2014

Congratulations to Larry Pessolano in the Schreiber lab for his abstract being awarded a travel scholarship to the American Heart Association Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology 2014 Scientific Sessions, May 1-3 in Toronto, Ontario.

Larry is fourth from the left on the bottom row.larryatvb

Congratulations to Teresa Colvin

Monday, April 7th, 2014

Congratulations to Teresa Colvin in the Sherman lab who successfully defended her PhD Thesis: “The Heat Shock Protein Hsp70 Affects Cancer Signaling Via its Interaction with Co-chaperone Bag3″.

Congratulations to Yu Huang

Monday, April 7th, 2014

Congratulations to Yu Huang in the Zaia lab for successfully defending his PhD Thesis: “Extracellular Remodeling Enzyme Processed Heparan Sulfate Oligosaccharides: Method Development and Characterization using Liquid Chromatography Mass Spectrometry”

Congratulations to Kathleen Tumelty

Tuesday, March 11th, 2014

Congratulations to Kathleen Tumelty in the Layne laboratory who successfully defended her PhD Thesis: “Mechanisms of Aortic Carboxypeptidase-like Protein Regulation of the Fibroblast to Myofibroblast Transition“.

Congratulations to Dana Buckler-Peña

Friday, October 11th, 2013

Congratulations to Dana Buckler-Peña in the Kandror lab who successfully defended her thesis: “Insulin Responsiveness of the Glucose Transporter 4 in 3T3-L1 Cells Depends on the Presence of Sortilin”


Congratulations to Albert Lee, PhD

Wednesday, July 31st, 2013

Congratulations to Albert Lee in Dr. Vickery Trinkaus-Randall’s laboratory who successfully defended his PhD thesis: “Hypoxia Impairs Wounds Healing by Inducing Changes in Calcium Mobilization and Adhesion Proteins”.

Congratulations to Heng “Mike” Guo, PhD

Thursday, July 11th, 2013

Congratulations to Heng “Mike” Guo in Dr. Stephen Farmer’s laboratory who successfully defended his PhD thesis; “Glucocorticoid Induced Leucine Zipper is Required for Adipogenesis and is a Target for the Anti-Adipogenic Activities of Oncostatin M”.

Congratulations to Brian Fluharty, PhD

Friday, June 28th, 2013

Congratulations to Brian Fluharty in Dr. David Harris’ lab who successfully defending his PhD thesis “Identification of Novel Cellular Prion Protein-Based Compounds to Block the Toxicity of Amyloid-Beta Oligomers”.

Congratulations Russek Winners

Monday, May 13th, 2013

Congratulations to the Russek Student Achievement Day  winners. From the Department of Biochemistry: Shannon Carroll won first prize and Kathleen Tumelty won second prize. Terri Colvin won first prize from Molecular Medicine and Tracey Tucker in Pharmacology won honorable mention.