The Fifth Annual Carlos S. Kase BU Neurology Research Symposium

loading slideshow...

  • 2019 Annual Carlos S Kase BU Neurology Research Symposium

  • Michelle Kaku, MD (Neurology Residency Director)

  • David M. Greer, MD (BU Neurology Professor and Chair)

  • Glenn Barest, MD, Elie Sader, MD and Thanh Nguyen, MD

  • Michael D. Perloff, MD, PhD and J. Rafael Romero, MD

  • Carlos S. Kase, MD (Professor Emeritus)

  • Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM, FACC, FAHA

  • Elie Sader, MD

  • David M. Greer, MD, Michelle Kaku, MD, Carlos S. Kase, MD and Emelia J. Benjamin, MD

  • J. Rafael Romero, MD and Michelle Kaku, MD

  • Vincent Lau, MD, Stephanie Bissonnette, DO, Sunali Shah, MD and Michelle Kaku, MD

On April 30th, 2019 the BU Department of Neurology hosted its Fifth Annual Carlos S. Kase BU Neurology Research Symposium. Dr. Michelle Kaku welcomed the guests on behalf of the department. Dr. David M. Greer, Professor and Chair, gave an overview of the departmental activities, recent recruitments and achievements. He thanked all the faculty, trainees and staff who have contributed to another successful academic year. In keeping with tradition, Dr Carlos Kase was also in attendance, he thanked the participants and guests for attending this annual event which highlighted accomplishments in clinical research and quality improvement by our fellows, residents and students.

This year we were honored to welcome our keynote speaker, Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM, FACC, FAHA, Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology at BU School of Medicine. In “What has the Framingham Heart Study taught us about atrial fibrillation,” Dr. Benjamin discussed the importance of the FHS which has not only contributed enormously to our understanding of the natural history of cardiovascular disease and stroke, but also enabled us to identify their major causal risk factors. When it comes to AF, future research is targeted toward developing precision medicine to preventing AF and its complications, with the ultimate goal of providing the right treatment, at the right time, tailored to a patient’s individual needs.

The following awards were presented at the symposium:

Outstanding Research Contributions to the Department of Neurology Award

  • J. Rafael Romero, MD, Associate Professor of Neurology

Excellence in Medical Student Teaching and Research Award

  • Elie Sader, MD (PGY3 Neurology Resident)

Excellence in Residency Curriculum Development and Wellness Award

  • Sunali Shah, MD (PGY3 Neurology Resident)
  • Ariel Marks, MD (PGY4 Neurology Resident)

Excellence in Medical Student Research Award

  • Betsy Thomas (M.D. Candidate 2019, BUSM)

Best Poster Award

  • Andrew Ferree, MD, PhD (PGY3 Neurology Resident)

Thank you for attending and participating in our symposium, and we look forward to seeing you at our future events.

View all posts