Project RECOVER

What is Project RECOVER?

Project RECOVER (Referral, Engagement, Case management, and Overdose preVention Education in Recovery) received funding from the Health and Human Services (HHS) Office of Minority Health (OMH) Empowered Communities for a Healthier Nation Initiative (Empowered Communities Initiative), which was created to help minority and disadvantaged populations in communities disproportionately affected by the opioid epidemic, childhood obesity and serious mental illness. Project RECOVERĀ is designed to link people who inject opiates (PWIO) who complete detoxification to community-based medication-assisted treatment (MAT), which multiplies the probability of a successful, opioid-free recovery. Project RECOVER does this by employing Peer Recovery Coaches (PRCs).

The goals of Project RECOVER are the following:

  1. Link, engage, and retain PWIO in outpatient MAT for a minimum of six months through a progressive series of interventions delivered by Peer Recovery Coaches (PRCs).
  2. Increase access to lifesaving overdose education and naloxone rescue kit distribution to patients and members of their social networks after detoxification treatment, when patients are at increased risk of overdosing.
  3. Link and engage patients completing detoxification in addiction-friendly primary care practices where they can access comprehensive care services for the prevention and treatment of acute and chronic diseases, including HIV and hepatitis B and C.

Recovery Coaching

Resources

Community Partners

Overdose Education

Principal Investigator

Ricardo Cruz, MD, MA, MPH

Program Coordinator

Mayowa Sanusi

Mayowa.Sanusi@bmc.org

617-945-4928

Staff

Alissa Cruz, MPH, Program Manager, Alissa.Cruz@bmc.org

Eric Lozada, Peer Recovery Coach Supervisor, Eric.Lozada@bmc.org

Nakita Haywood, Recovery Coach, Nakita.Haywood@bmc.orgĀ 

Tyshaun Perryman, Recovery Coach, Tyshaun.Perryman@bmc.org

Rafik Wahbi, Research Assistant, Rafik.Wahbi@bmc.org

General Contact Information

E-mail: Project.Recover@bmc.org

Phone: 617-414-6600