Archive for May, 2010

Henry I. Russek Student Achievement Day 2010 award winners!

Monday, May 24th, 2010

Henry I. Russek Student Achievement Day (May 21st) was a great success.
The interesting keynote address on stress and cognition was delivered by Dr. Baram of UCSF.  Students throughout the Division of Graduate Medical Sciences (GMS) presented their work in oral and poster abstracts.  In the Department of Biochemistry, Milka Koupenova-Zamor, a student in Dr. Ravid’s lab, won the first prize.  Le Meng, a student in Dr. Sherman’s lab won the second prize and Erin Smith, a student in Dr. Symes’ lab won an honorable mention.  In addition, Stephanie Seidl was given a Distinguished Service Award for her efforts on behalf of GMS.
Congratulations to all of them!

Dr. Barbara Schreiber receives Excellence in Teaching Award

Friday, May 21st, 2010

Dr. Barbara M. Schreiber, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and  Director of Graduate Students, received the Boston University Goldman  School of Dental Medicine 2010 Excellence in Teaching in the Basic  Sciences Award.

Congratulations to Dr. Gwynneth Offner!!

Wednesday, May 19th, 2010

Dr. Offner was awarded a 2010 Educator of the Year Award which are based on student nominations.  For more information click here.

Joerg Kumbrink, Ph.D. awarded a Komen Fellowship Research Grant!

Monday, May 3rd, 2010

Joerg Kumbrink, a postdoctoral fellow in the Kirsch lab, was awarded a Susan G. Komen Fellowship Research Grant!  His project will look at the “Development of inhibitors targeting p130Cas/BCAR1 family proteins.”  This grant has been funded for two years with an optional third year of funding.