Archive for December, 2009

Franzblau Travel Award

Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009

The Student Affairs Committee is pleased to announce the winners of  this year’s Myrna and Carl Franzblau Student Travel Awards.  We had many deserving applications this year and were able to provide awards  to four PhD students within the Department. The students and  their advisors are listed below:

1. Stephanie Seidl (Schreiber)
2. Johann Bergholz (Xiao)
3. Hicham Naimy (Zaia)
4. Nadezda Sargaeva (O’Connor)


These awards are made possible by the generosity of Dr. and Ms.  Franzblau and will provide funds to defer the costs of travel for these students to present their research at a national/international  scientific conference.  This year’s award selection committee was  comprised of members of the Biochemistry Department Student  Affairs Committee (Matthew Layne (chair), Phillip Stone, Karen Symes and Matthew Nugent). The Department  thanks the selection committee for their careful consideration of all  the applicants.

The Committee would also like to make sure that all graduate students in the department are aware that the Division of Graduate Medical Sciences will provide up to $250 of travel money for students to attend a scientific meeting.  Inquires can be made directly through the GMS office regarding this opportunity.

Recent Publication News!

Monday, December 7th, 2009

Symes and Nugent lab collaboration highlighted in BU News

Full News Story Here

PNAS Paper can be found here !