Podiatry Surgery Chief Geoffrey Habershaw, DPM, Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

October 25th, 2018

Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Geoffrey Habershaw, DPM, Chief of Podiatry Surgery (right), with BMC/BUSM colleague Hau Pham, DPM.

Geoffrey Habershaw, DPM, chief and founder of Podiatry Surgery and the Podiatry Residency Program at Boston Medical Center (BMC) and Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM), received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Massachusetts Foot & Ankle Society.  The award for outstanding accomplishments and service to the society and the profession of podiatric medicine and surgery was voted upon unanimously by the society’s board and presented at its annual meeting in October.

Dr. Habershaw graduated from the Illinois College of Podiatric Medicine. He completed residency training at New England Deaconess Hospital (now known as Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center). Following graduation, he joined the Department of Surgery at New England Deaconess, and became Chief of the Division of Podiatry at the Deaconess and the Joslin Diabetes Center.

Dr. Habershaw’s primary interest is diabetic foot ulcers and he is known nationally and internationally as an expert in the field, lecturing around the world and drawing patients with this condition from around the country.  Dr. Habershaw has trained many residents to become expert in treating diabetic foot ulcers and other podiatric problems.

In 1999, Dr. Habershaw was recruited to the Boston Medical Center Department of Surgery to start a podiatry program. The practice has grown to nine providers, with 26,000 outpatient visits and more than 1,000 operative cases per year.  Dr. Habershaw also started the Podiatry Residency Program at BMC/BUSM.

According to BMC/BUSM podiatrist Hau Pham, DPM, who trained under Dr. Habershaw at New England Deaconess and nominated him for this prestigious award, “Without much fanfare, Dr. Habershaw has treated numerous patients with diabetic foot ulcers and given them back an active life free of foot ulcers.  He has trained many providers directly and indirectly to achieve the same goal. No one is more worthy of the Lifetime Achievement Award in Podiatry than him.”

Share this: