Research and Awards

Student Projects

2015: Danny Coleman (4th Year Student): Poster presentation and scholarship
Implementing a Tobacco Cessation Intervention for third year Medical Student Psychiatry Clerks: A Pilot Study. 2016 ADMSEP Annual Meeting


2014 Center for Excellence and Innovation in Teaching (CEIT) Grant, Boston University
PI: John Otis, PhD
Purpose: Develop a digital video library of patient interviews and presentations that will be available to all BU medical students who are learning interviewing and presentation skills.

Medical Student Awards

Annually there are four awards given to graduating 4th year medical students who have excelled and demonstrated excellence in the field of psychiatry.

  • Malamud Award – student who best grasps the basic science of psychiatry and demonstrates a caring attitude towards patients.
  • John M. Murray Award – best four year performance in psychiatry with special attention to clinical work.
  • Ruth Hunter Johnson Award – student who is interested in and training for a career in psychiatry.
  • David Iverson Award – demonstrated excellence in psychiatry and has personal traits of compassion and devotion to patients. Psychiatry’s most prestigious student award.
Year Malamud Murray Hunter Johnson Iverson
2013 Phelan Maruca Tim McIntire Qyana Griffith Cheryl Hendricks
2014 Emily Holick Layna Glenn Kristen Guilford Katrina Weed
2015 Monica Lee Kathleen Leahy
Kristen Hart
Stephanie Shaw
Matthew McAdams
Katherine Skosnik
2016 Aaron Feiger Josh Minsky Britney Lambert Daniel Coleman
2017 Farhan Ladhani Jawad Husain Sam Sheffield  Wenqi Feng Kendra Kobin

Faculty Teaching Awards

2016 – Stanley Robbins Award for Excellence in Teaching – Dr. John Otis


Resident Teaching Awards

This award is presented each year to the psychiatry resident who has made the most meaningful contribution to medical student education.

Year Psychiatry Resident
2017 Cristina Montalvo, MD
2016 Michael Colon, MD
2015 Ryan Peterson, MD
2012 Ashwini Nadkarni, MD
2011 Mark Oldham, MD