Congratulations to Prof. Chris Gabel!

Professor Gabel was recently promoted to to Associate Professor: Christopher V. Gabel, MED, Physiology & Biophysics, Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics, is a leader in the field of axon regeneration in C elegans neurobiology. His lab also develops various biophotonic techniques and applications including sub-cellular laser ablation. Although the field of C elegans is particularly competitive, Dr. […]

Saliva protects against binding of bacteria that cause Traveler’s Diarrhea

Check out the Scientific American podcast: Esther Bullitt, Associate Professor of Physiology & Biophysics, and colleagues at the Boston University School of Dental Medicine and Washington University have published research showing that a component in saliva, Histatin-5, reduces binding of bacteria that cause Traveler’s Diarrhea. This is the first report of saliva acting against […]

Congratulations to Dr. Christna Ouch!

Congratulations to Christna Ouch for successfully defending his doctoral dissertation entitled: “Cryo-EM Structure of IcmS-IcmW-DotL(655-783) from the Type IVB Secretion System of Legionella Pneumophila”.

Congratulations to Dr. Jie Yang!

Congratulations to Jie Yang for successfully defending her doctoral dissertation entitled: “Exploration of a Novel Non-lytic Viral Transmission Mechanism Utilized by a Non-Enveloped Positive-Sense RNA Virus”.


Congratulations to Department of Physiology and Biophysics’ members Olga Gursky, Carter Cornwall and Christopher Conner for their recent Grant Awards: Olga Gursky’s award is from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences to study “Apolipoprotein Conformation in Amyloid and Cardiovascular Diseases.” Carter Cornwall’s award is from the National Eye Institute to study “Spectral and Metabolic […]

2017 Commencement at BU!

Here are the graduates and faculty of the Physiology & Biophysics Department as photographed by David L. Keough: Conragtulations!

Congratulations to Andrew Bogorad!

Congratulations to Andrew for a successful defense of his PhD thesis entitled; “Novel Mechanisms of EIF2B Action and Regulation by EIF2Alpha Phosphoralization”.