The Academic Program

Courses and Clerkships Overview

Curriculum information on the BUSM Admissions Page
BU Bulletin Website: Listing of BUSM Courses on the official Bulletin Website
Fourth Year Course Catalogue
Barnes & Noble Textbook Search: Please note that you should select “MED MS” in the second dropdown box where it asks you to “Select Department”.

Jump to: First Year Curriculum | Second Year Curriculum | Clerkships

First Year Curriculum

Biochemistry and Cell Biology (MS 127)
Course Director
Dr. Karen Symes
M,Tu,Th: (617) 638-4077
W,F: (617) 638-4196
symes@bu.edu
Essentials of Public Health (MS 129)
Course Director
Dr. Joanne Wilkinson
(617) 414-6198
Joanne.Wilkinson@bmc.org
Genetics (MS 130)
Course Director
Dr. Shoumita Dasgupta
(617) 414-1580
dasgupta@bu.edu
Gross Anatomy (MS 122)
Course Director
Dr. Ann Zumwalt
(617) 638-4321
azumwalt@bu.edu
Histology (MS 123)
Course Director
Dr. Deborah Vaughan
(617) 638-5311
dvaughan@bu.edu
Human Behavior in Medicine (MS 126)
Course Director
Dr. Doug Hughes
(617) 638-4150
dhughes@bu.edu

Coordinator
Rebecca Halley
(617) 638-4150
rlhalley@bu.edu

Immunology (MS 131)
Course Directors
Dr. Dan Remick
(617) 414-7043
remickd@bu.edu

Dr. Debbie Stearns-Kurosawa
(617) 414-7092
dstearns@bu.edu

Integrated Problems 1A and 1B (MS 124/MS 132)
Course Director
Dr. Megan Young
(617) 638-6406
Megan.Young2@bmc.org

Coordinator
Ginny Potter
(617) 414-7449
gpotter@bu.edu

Introduction to Clinical Medicine 1A Fall
(MS 125)

Course Director
Dr. John Otis
(617) 414-2051
johnotis@bu.edu

Coordinator
Caroline Mulligan
(617) 414-7511
Caroline.Mulligan@bmc.org

Introduction to Clinical Medicine 1B Spring
(MS 125)

Course Director
Dr. Nanette Harvey
(617) 638-5110
ncharvey@bu.edu

Coordinator
Ginny Potter
(617) 414-7449
gpotter@bu.edu

Neuroscience (MS 133)
Course Director
Dr. Jarrett Rushmore
(617) 638-4188
rushmore@bu.edu
Physiology (MS 134) & Endocrinology (MS 128)
Course Director
Dr. Aaron Young
(617) 638-4257
youngaw@bu.edu

Second Year Curriculum

Disease and Therapy Curriculum (DRx)

(MS 220, MS 221, MS 223, MS 224, MS 225, MS 226)
Committee

Dr. Robert Lowe
(617) 638-6525
rolowe@bu.edu
Dr. Stephanie Oberhaus
(617) 414-4197
oberhaus@bu.edu
Dr. Carmen Sarita-Reyes
(617) 414-5337
cdsr@bu.edu
Dr. Carol T. Walsh
(617) 638-4326
ctwalsh@bu.edu

Coordinator
Elizabeth Rivera
(617) 414-7450
erivera@bu.edu

Integrated Problems II

(MS 215, MS 218)

Course Director
Dr. Megan Young
(617) 638-6406
Megan.Young2@bmc.org
Course Coordinator
Ginny Potter
(617) 414-7449
gpotter@bu.edu

Introduction to Clinical Medicine II

(MS 214)

Course Director
Dr. Lorraine Stanfield
(617) 638-5114
lstanfie@bu.edu
Course Coordinator
Jodie Trainor
(617) 638-6446
jtrain@bu.edu

Clerkships

Advanced Medicine 2

Clerkship Director
Dr. Suzanne Sarfaty
(617) 638-4167
ssarfaty@bu.edu
Clerkship Coordinator
Cleon Ryland
(617) 638-7265
cryland@bu.edu

Family Medicine

Clerkship Director
Dr. Miriam Hoffman-Kleiner
(617) 414-6208
Miriam.Hoffman@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Florence Laforest
(617) 414-6237
flafores@bu.edu

Geriatrics

Clerkship Director
Dr. Lisa Norton
(617) 638-6100
Lisa.Norton@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Julia Bruno
(617) 638-6155
Julia.Bruno@bmc.org

Medicine

Clerkship Director
Dr. Warren Hershman
(617) 638-7230
whershma@bu.edu
Clerkship Coordinator
Britt Simonson
(617) 638-7230
brisimo@bu.edu

Neurology

Clerkship Director
Dr. Yelena Pyatkevich
(617) 638-8456
Yelena.Pyatkevich@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Dianna Gromczynski
(617) 638-5351
dgrom@bu.edu

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Clerkship Director
Dr. Jodi Abbott
(617) 414-5153
Jodi.Abbott@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Makeba Kent
(617) 414-7481
Makeba.Kent@bmc.org

Pediatrics

Clerkship Director
Dr. Rachel Thompson
(617) 414-5576
Rachel.Thompson@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Therese D’Agostino
(617) 414-5576
Therese.D’Agostino@bmc.org

Psychiatry

Clerkship Director
Dr. John Otis
(617) 414-2051
johnotis@bu.edu
Clerkship Coordinator
Caroline Mulligan
(617) 414-7511
Caroline.Mulligan@bmc.org

Radiology

Clerkship Director
Dr. Christina LeBedis
(617) 638-6615
Christina.LeBedis@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Lauren Sullivan
(617) 414-4914
Lauren.Sullivan@bmc.org

Surgery/Surgical Subspecialties

Clerkship Director
Dr. Jane Mendez
(617) 414-8011
Jane.Mendez@bmc.org
Clerkship Coordinator
Grace Farnham
(617) 638-8443
Grace.Farnham@bmc.org