Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) at Boston University School of Medicine provides oversight for the coordination, planning, administration, assessment, and quality of the entire four-year medical education curriculum. The office cultivates a dynamic, ever-improving learning environment through faculty development, educational research, and curricular innovation.

Leadership
Support Staff
Doug HughesDoug Hughes, M.D.
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Ramsey Professorship of Theory and Practice
Chair, Medical Education Committee
dhughes@bu.edu
(617) 638-4150
Rebecca Halley
Administrative Manager
Office of Academic Affairs
rlhalley@bu.edu
(617) 638-4150
Suzy SarfatySuzanne Sarfaty, M.D.
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
Director, Office of Enrichment
ssarfaty@bu.edu
(617) 638-4167
Ana Bediako, Ed.M.
Administrative Director
Office of Enrichment
abediako@bu.edu
(617) 638-4167
John WiechaJohn Wiecha, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
Director, Office of Medical Education
john383@bu.edu
(617) 638-5110
Jodie Trainor
Administrative and Financial Manager
Office of Medical Education
jtrain@bu.edu
(617) 638-5110
Anna HohlerAnna DePold Hohler, M.D., F.A.A.N.
Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
Director, Office of Clinical Development
anna.hohler@bmc.org
(617) 638-4167
Patti Gibbs
Administrative Assistant
Office of Clinical Development
lovendal@bu.edu
(617) 638-5110
(617) 638-4167
Miriam HoffmanMiriam Hoffman, M.D.
Chair, Clerkship Curriculum Subcommittee (CCS)
mhoffman@bu.edu
Athena Gomez-Hipolito
Office of Medical Education
Committee Coordinator, MEC, PCS, CCS
ahipolit@bu.edu
(617) 414-7441
Nanette HarveyNan Harvey, M.D.
Chair, Pre-Clerkship Curriculum Subcommittee (PCS)
ncharvey@bu.edu
Anand DevaiahAnand Devaiah, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Chair, Electives Curriculum Subcommittee (ECS)
Anand.Devaiah@bmc.org
Patti Gibbs
Office of Medical Education
Committee Coordinator, ECS
lovendal@bu.edu
(617) 638-5110
Gail MarchGail March, Ph.D.
Co-Chair, Objectives and Curriculum Subcommittee (OCS)
gmarch@bu.edu