2017 Symposium Highlights

loading slideshow...

  • All
  • 7Q3A0399 (1)
  • CSK
  • VS
  • SP_MP
  • RP_JR
  • AH_OV_VS
  • Poster Session7
  • MD Group
  • 7Q3A0719 (1)
  • Four res
  • Res Group
  • MS_JW
  • TP
  • JO
  • GGe Award
  • Hainline Award
  • Poster Session5

On April 25th, 2017 the BU Department of Neurology hosted its Third Annual Carlos S. Kase BU Neurology Research Symposium. Dr. Anna Hohler and Dr. Cigdem Isitan welcomed the guests on behalf of the department. Dr. Marie-Hélène Saint Hilaire, Professor and Interim Chair, gave an overview of the departmental activities, recent recruitments and achievements. She thanked all the faculty, trainees and staff who have contributed to another successful academic year.

The Symposium highlighted the clinical research programs for medical students and trainees in the Department of Neurology. Over 80 attendees at the conference included faculty, trainees, students and alumni who heard presentations from senior residents that ranged from EEG Findings in HIV Infected patient, BU SCIENCE Project to the Neurology Global Health Initiative.

This year we were honored to welcome our keynote speakers: Carlos S. Kase, MD and Veronica E. Santini, MD.

  • In “The Importance of Mentoring in Research” Dr. Kase offered insight into mentoring for research v. career. He highlighted the components of good mentoring, as well as responsibilities and rewards for both mentor and mentee.
  • In “Increasing the Medical Student Pipeline into Neurology,” Dr. Santini discussed the medical student pipeline as a major priority of the AAN Education Committee. The AAN recently received a generous grant from the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation to study this specific issue. The goal of the grant is to increase the number of students entering neurology and the aims include determining specific factors that lead medical students to choose neurology as a career, to develop engaging multimedia resources to inspire students to pursue careers in neurology and to expand and enhance SIGN.

Dr. Marie-Hélène Saint Hilaire received an award for her outstanding research contributions to the Department of Neurology at BUSM.

Dr. Clotilde Hainline and Dr. Guannan Ge are the recipients of the Golden Brain Awards for 2016-2017. This award is given to the top attending and resident teachers by the BU medical students on Neurology clerkship and is recognition of their excellence in teaching and devotion to students. Dr. Yelena Pyatkevich, BU Neurology Clerkship Director, was recognized for her outstanding contributions to medical student education. Dr. Malveeka Sharma and Dr. Jason Weller, senior residents at BU Neurology, received Resident Research Awards. The day was concluded with a poster presentation featuring research and scholarly work by our medical students, residents and fellows.

We look forward to seeing you at our future neuroscience symposia to be held on an annual basis including our BUMC/VA Joining Forces TBI Conference next November.

Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine