News & Updates

Dr. Angela Jackson Receives 2018 Jerome Klein Award

January 17th, 2019

Angela Jackson, MD, associate dean of student affairs, has been named the 2018 recipient of the Jerome Klein Award for Physician Excellence. Dr. Jackson, an associate professor of medicine, also serves as a general internal medicine physician at Boston Medical Center (BMC). Dr. Jackson is recognized for the Jerome Klein award... More

DOM Faculty Named 2019 Top Docs

January 10th, 2019

Congratulations to the 57 Department of Medicine faculty members who were named to Boston Magazine's annual Top Doc's list! Allergy & Immunology  Helen M. Hollingsworth Cardiac Electrophysiology Robert H. Helm Kevin M. Monahan Cardiovascular Disease Eric H. Awtry Gary J. Balady Sheilah A. Bernard Robert T. Eberhardt Alice K. Jacobs Clinical Genetics Jodi D. Hoffman Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Sonia Ananthakrishnan Alan P. Farwell Michael F. Holick Stephanie... More

Dr. Tuhina Neogi is new Chief of Rheumatology

January 7th, 2019

We are delighted to announce that Tuhina Neogi, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Medicine, has accepted our offer to become Chief of the Rheumatology Section effective January 1, 2019. Dr. Neogi received her M.D. from the University of Toronto and Ph.D. from the Boston University School of Public Health. She... More

Hem/Onc Section Partners with Bristol-Myers Squibb for Cancer Research

December 19th, 2018

Street Insider publishes article "Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMY) Announces Research Collaboration with Boston Medical Center to Investigate Markers of Immuno-Oncology Response & Resistance" The hematology/oncology section at Boston Medical Center is partnering with Bristol-Meyers Squibb to investigate biomarkers in a variety of cancers to predict Immuno-Oncology I-O responses. "We look forward to partnering... More

Discovery of the Month: Dec 2018

December 18th, 2018

"Retinoic Acid Signaling is Essential for Airway Smooth Muscle Homeostasis" Felicia Chen, Fengzhi Shao, Anne Hinds, Sean Yao, Sumati Ram-Mohan, Timothy A. Norman, Ramaswamy Krishnan, and Alan Fine Team led by Dr. Felicia Chen of the BU Pulmonary Center demonstrates that "Retinoic Acid signaling maintains airway smooth muscle homeostasis by preventing excessive activation of the TGF-β pathway. We conclude that tonic... More

American Thyroid Association Names Elizabeth Pearce, MD, BoD President

November 10th, 2018

Professor of Medicine in the Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Nutrition, Elizabeth Pearce, MD, MSc, has been named president of the Board of Directors of the American Thyroid Association. Her one-year term began in October 2018 and has served as president-elect for the past year. Dr. Pearce received her undergraduate and... More

AY18 Faculty Awards and Honors

August 1st, 2018

Congratulations to the following Department of Medicine faculty members for their achievements during 2017-2018!   The Center for Regenerative Medicine (CReM) earned the 2017 Sharing Research Resources Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), established “to recognize successful models for sharing biomedical research resources.”   Caroline Apovian, MD, FACP, FACN, FTOS, Professor... More