Nutrition and Weight Management Research Center

 

Nutrition and Weight Management Research Center

Caroline M. Apovian, MD, FACP, FACN

Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics

Education:

M.D., University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey

General field of research:

Obesity; Diabetes; Nutrition

Affiliations other than medicine:

Evans Center for Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research
Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Nutrition

Contact information:

Office
88 E. Newton Street, Robinson 4400

Phone: (617) 638-8556

Fax: (617) 638-8599

Caroline.Apovian@bmc.org

Research group information:

Sherman Bigornia, PhD – Postdoctoral Associate – sherman.bigornia@bmc.org

Ashley Bourland – Clinical Research Manager – ashley.bourland@bmc.org

Brooke Hasson, PhD – Research Scientist – brooke.hasson@bmc.org

Nawfal Istfan, MD, PhD – Nutrition Investigator – nawfal.istfan@bmc.org

Waheed Khan – Research Coordinator – waheed.khan@bmc.org

Dong Wook Kim, MD – Nutrition Investigator – dongwook.kim@bmc.org

James McCarthy – Administrative Coordinator – james.mccarthy@bmc.org

Kenya Palmer, MSN, NP – Nurse Practitioner – kenya.palmer@bmc.org

Alexandra Pitkin, RD, LDN – Research Dietitian – alexandra.pitkin@bmc.org

Amanda Powell, MD – Nutrition Investigator – amanda.powell@bmc.org

Mitali Shah, MS, RD, LDN – Research Dietitian – mitali.shah@bmc.org

Lorrie Young, MS, RD, CNSD, LDN – Research Dietitian – lorrie.young@bmc.org

Keywords:

Obesity; Inflammation; Adipokines; Endothelial function; Diabetes

Summary of research interest:

Dr. Apovian’s focus is on clinical research in obesity and diabetes. Her group investigates weight loss and its effects on endothelial cell function, adipose cell metabolism and inflammation, research in the bariatric surgery population and novel pharmacotherapeutic antiobesity agents. She has become an expert in the technique for subcutaneous adipose tissue aspirations, and has been performing these aspirations on research subjects at Boston University for over 5 years. Other research projects include dietary and physical activity interventions in underserved post-partum women and the investigation into the effects of increased dietary protein on lean body mass, maximal voluntary muscle strength and power in older men with mobility limitations.

 apovian group

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

apovian 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Publications:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?term=Apovian+C[author]

Technologies available for sharing upon request:

Subcutaneous adipose tissue biopsies (H-25223 ALTERATIONS IN FAT CELL-DERIVED ADIPOCYTOKINE EXPRESSION BEFORE AND AFTER WEIGHT LOSS)