New DOM Awards Announced! Deadline for Submissions are August 21st

By Inel FerraraJuly 7th, 2020

In addition to the eight awards that are given out on Evans Days, the Department of Medicine has announced the addition of two new Faculty Development and Diversity Awards (a faculty award and non-faculty diversity award) and an Administrative Award. The Faculty Development and Diversity Award is awarded to a Department... More

By Inel FerraraJuly 2nd, 2020in Spotlights

  Pride Month Faculty Spotlight: Q&A with Dr. Carl Streed Jr., MD, MPH, FACP Q: Right now we're witnessing the Black Lives Matter movement where inequality and injustices against African Americans are being brought to light and exposed.  But when you think about injustices you also think about injustice in the LGBTQ... More

Session Recap from A Day of Collective Engagement

By Inel FerraraJuly 2nd, 2020

"When you look at the numbers of the white versos non-white clinicians in the medical fields and the discrepancy between them, you can tell this is not just something that happened passively.  It didn't happen as an accident.  It was a choice.  It is the effect of structural racism." - More

Appointments & Promotions – June ’20

By Rochelle BarrosJune 30th, 2020

Professor(s): Renda Wiener, MD   Clinical Professor(s): Christine Reardon, MD   Assistant Professors: Navid Alavi, MD Hussein Assi, MD Nabila Azad, MD Nicholas Bosch, MD Kathryn Fantasia, MD Jean Liew, MD Nicole Mushero, MD

Appointments & Promotions – May ’20

By Rochelle BarrosJune 5th, 2020

Professor(s): Alan Moss, MD   Assistant Professors: Polly Dhond, PhD Albert Nadjaria, MD Jennifer Palmer, MD Purva Ranchal, MD Angela Reffel, PA-C Haihua Zhang, MD   Instructors: Sarah Khan, MD Lauren Kearney, MD Ryan Knodle, MD Justin Peterson, MD Tashia Prince-Lacombe, NP Samantha Rawlins-Pilgrim, MD Olivia Rowse, MD Stephen Russell, MD Melinda Tonelli, MD Judy Tran, NP

CTSI Grant Investigator

BU CTSI Awarded $38.3 Million Renewal from NIH

BU’s Clinical and Translational Science Institute (BU CTSI), led by Dr. David Center, Chief of the section of Pulmonary, Allergy, Sleep and Critical Care,  has been awarded $38.3 million in renewal funding from the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “This renewal, More

Dr. Carl Streed receives Outstanding Recent Graduate Award from Johns Hopkins Alumni Association

By Rochelle BarrosMay 14th, 2020in Recent News

Dr. Carl Streed is recognized with the Outstanding Recent Graduate Award for exemplifying the Johns Hopkins tradition excellence through outstanding achievements in his professional life. He will be recognized along with fellow award recipients at an in-person celebration when normal operations resume. Carl Streed is an Assistant Professor in the section... More

Appointments & Promotions – April ’20

By mkeyseMay 5th, 2020

Welcome to the Department of Medicine! Appointments Gaelle Cottan-Brun, MD, Instructor General Internal Medicine Ian Downs, MD, Instructor General Internal Medicine Sadie Elisseou, MD, Adjunct Instructor General Internal Medicine Sarah Phillips, MD, Instructor Geriatrics