ITP Faculty List

Click on a name for more detailed information.

Jeff L. Browning, Ph.D.
Research Professor of Microbiology
Email:browninj@bu.edu
Research Areas: Immune system interactions with stromal elements in the formation of  specialized structures  in lymphoid organs.

David M. Center, M.D.
Gordon and Ruth Snider Professor of Pulmonary Medicine
Research Professor of Biochemistry
Chief, Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Email:dcenter@bu.edu
Research Areas: Nuclear factors associated with control of the CD4+ T cell cycle; functions of pro-Interleukin-16 and its dysregulation in T cell leukemias; effects of Interleukin 16 stimulation of CD4+ T cells

John H. Connor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Email: jhconnor@bu.edu
Research Areas: Protein synthesisin in virus replication.

Ronald B. Corley, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Microbiology
Email: rbcorley@bu.edu
Research Areas: B lymphocyte development and differentiation; antibody assembly, trafficking and secretion

William Cruikshank, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Email: bcruikshank@lung.bumc.bu.edu
Research Areas: Characterization, process of synthesis and secretion, and clinical relevance to inflammation of the CD4+ T-cell-specific cytokine interleukin 16(IL-16)
Cruikshank Biosketch

Gerald Denis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Email: gdenis@bu.edu
Research Areas: Mechanisms of transcriptional controls mediated through the activators and chromatin regulators called Bromodomain proteins
Denis Lab
Denis Biosketch

Hans Dooms, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Email: hdooms@bu.edu
Research Areas: T cells, autoimmunity, cytokines, immunologic memory, type 1 diabetes

Douglas V. Faller, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, Biochemistry, Pathology Laboratory & Medicine
Director of the Cancer Center; Vice-Chairman, Division of Medicine
Email: dfaller@bu.edu
Research Areas: Effects of oncogenes on signal transduction, cellular growth and differentiation, apoptosis, and the cellular immune system

Rachel Fearns, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Email: rfearns@bu.edu
Research Areas: Host Pathogen Interactions, Virus Molecular Biology

Caroline A. Genco, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Associate Professor, Department of Periodontology and Oral Biology, Goldman School of Dentistry
Email: caroline.genco@bmc.org
Research Areas: Microbial pathogenesis, vaccine development, host- parasite interactions, and bacterial gene regulation

Rahm Gummuluru, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Email: rgummulu@bu.edu
Research Areas: Molecular mechanisms of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), dendritic cell interactions

Andrew J. Henderson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Email: Andrew.Henderson@bmc.org
Research Areas: Molecular events that regulate HIV expression

Robin Ingalls, M.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Email: ringalls@bu.edu
Research Areas: Reproductive immunology and the pathogenesis of gonococcal and chlamydia infections

Igor Kramnik, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Email: ikramnik@bu.edu
Research Areas: innate immunity, genetics; host resistance, infection, tuberculosis, lung, interferon, macrophage

Shinichiro Kurosawa M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Email: kurosawa@bu.edu
Research Areas: Clinical Hematology, Critical Care Medicine, Blood Coagulation and Inflammation, Sepsis and Septic Shock, Pre-clinical in vivo models

Robert Lafyatis, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Email: lafyatis@bu.edu
Research Areas: Fibrosis and autoimmunity in systemic sclerosis

Adam Lerner, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Email: lernwara@bu.edu
Research Areas: Role of AND-34 in breast cancer and B cell signal transduction

Sharmila Masli, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Email: smasli@bu.edu
Research Areas: Ocular antigen presenting cells, ocular inflammation

Joseph P. Mizgerd, Sc.D.
Professor of Medicine
Email: jmizgerd@bu.edu
Research Areas: Acute lower respiratory tract infection, Cytokines, Innate immunity, Neutrophil recruitment and activation, Pneumonia, Transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression

Gustavo Mostoslavsky, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Email: gmostosl@bu.edu
Research Areas: Stem cell biology and gene therapy

Elke Mühlberger, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Associate Director, Biomolecule Production Core, NEIDL Institute
Email: muehlber@bu.edu
Research Areas: host response to filovirus infection, molecular mechanisms of filovirus replication and transcription

John R. Murphy, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Professor of Microbiology
Chief, Section of Biomolecular Medicine, Department of Medicine
Email: jrmrphy@bu.edu
Research Areas: Design and genetic construction of diphtheria-toxin- based growth fusion proteins and the use of these fusion proteins to further explore the biological functions of these cytokines as well as their clinical usefulness for treatment of cancer and autoimmunity

Barbara S.Nikolajczyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Medicine
Email: bnikol@bu.edu
Research Areas: Inflammation in type 2 diabetes and other inflammatory diseases; molecular mechanisms of disease pathogenesis; regulation of IL-1 beta production
Nikolajczyk Biosketch

Lee J. Quinton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Email: lquinton@bu.edu
Research Areas: Lung Infections, Pneumonia, Acute Lung Injury, Cytokine Networks, and Innate Immunity

Daniel G. Remick, M.D.
Professor and Chair of Pathology
Chairman of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Email: Daniel.Remick@bmc.org
Research Areas: Sepsis, Asthma, regulation of ongoing inflammation
Remick Biosketch

Ian Rifkin, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Email: irifkin@bu.edu
Research Areas: Immunological mechanisms responsible for the development of systemic autoimmune disease, systemic lupus erythematosus

Jennifer Schlezinger, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Environmental Health
Email: jschlezinger@bu.edu
Research Areas: immunotoxicology, aryl hydrocarbon receptor and peroxisome proliferators activated receptor-g

David C. Seldin, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Director, Graduate Program in Molecular Medicine
Email: dseldin@bumc.bu.edu
Research Areas: Application of transgenic and knockout mouse models to study dysregulated kinases that play a role in the molecular basis of lymphoproliferative diseases and other malignancies; mechanisms of disease in the plasma cell disorder “systemic amyloidosis”
Seldin Biosketch

Jacqueline Sharon, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Email: jsharon@bu.edu
Research Areas: Generation and characterization of polyclonal antibody libraries for the treatment and diagnosis of cancer and infectious diseases

David H. Sherr, Ph.D.
Email: dsherr@bu.edu
Director, Immunology Training Program
Professor of Environmental Health; Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Research Areas: Cancer immunotherapy; The role of an environmental chemical receptor (AhR) in regulatory T cell development; Mechanisms of immunosuppression mediated by environmental pollutants; The role of the AhR in breast cancer
Sherr Lab
Sherr Biosketch

Andrew Taylor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Email: awtaylor@bu.edu
Research Areas: Immune privilege in the eye. Neuropeptides as inhibitors of immune responses. Regulatory T cells

Gregory A. Viglianti, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Email: gviglian@bu.edu
Research Areas: Molecular biology of HIV-1; the role of virus-host cell interactions in pathogenesis

Lee M. Wetzler, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Email: lwetzler@bu.edu
Research Areas: Vaccine development; microbial immunity and pathogenesis; effect of bacterial products on eukaryotic cells

Susan Winandy, Ph.D.
Nancy L.R. Bucher Assistant Professor
Email:swinandy@bu.edu
Research Areas: Molecular Immunology, Development of the Immune System, Regulation of Gene Expression, Cancer Biology