Student Awards

The 19th Annual Henry I. Russek Student Achievement Day 2013

Russek Award

We would like to congratulate Terri Colvin, this years Molecular and Translational Medicine first place winner at Russek Student Achievement Day 2013.

Levinsky Fellowship Recipient 2013-2014

Katie Benson Levinsky fellow

The Department of Medicine and the Graduate Program in Molecular and Translational Medicine are pleased to announce that Katherine Benson is the 2013-2014 recipient of the Levinsky Fellowship. Katherine graduated from Carleton College with a B.S. in Chemistry, and is conducting her PhD thesis research on the re-programming of iPS cells in the laboratory of Dr. Darrell Kotton.
This award was established in memory of Norman Levinsky, MD who was Chair of the DOM from 1972-1997, during which time he supported the development of basic research programs in the DOM, including Dr. Jack Murphy’s Section of BioMolecular Medicine and the Graduate Program in Molecular and Translational Medicine. After Dr. Levinsky, the DOM and Dr. Murphy were instrumental in establishing a fellowship in Dr. Levinsky’s memory to support graduate education in the department. This fellowship provides educational support, and is awarded to the top-ranked first year Ph.D. student as assessed by the Admissions Committee of the program.