Ongoing and Graduated ARCs:

(Note: In addition to intra-ARC collaborations, there are also ongoing inter-ARCs collaborations)

A. ARCs


[click below for a full text]

ETIOLOGY AND PATHOGENESIS OF ORAL CANCER (EPOC)
Drs. Maria Kukuruzinsa (mkukuruz@bu.edu), Avrum Spira (aspira@bu.edu) and Maria Trojanowska (trojanme@bu.edu), ARC Directors (1.1.14)


[click below for a full text]

COMPUTATIONAL GENOMIC MODELS OF ENVIRONMENTAL & CHEMICAL CARCINOGENICITY
Drs. Stefano Monti (smonti@bu.edu) and David Sherr (dsherr@bu.edu), ARC Directors (1.1.13)


[click below for a full text]

NANOTHERANOSTIC PLATFORMS FOR CANCER AND VASCULAR DISEASE
Drs. Mark Grinstaff (mgrin@bu.edu), Victoria L.M. Herrera (vherrera@bu.edu), Joyce Y. Wong (jywong@bu.edu) and Karl J. Karlson (kkarlson@bu.edu), ARC Directors (1.1.12)

 


[click below for a full text]

METABOLIC DISEASES AND INSULIN RESISTANCE: STUDIES IN PATIENTS UNDERGOING BARIATRIC SURGERY
Dr. Ruderman, ARC Director (nrude@bu.edu); Drs. Caroline Apovian (capovian@bu.edu) and Konstantin Kandror (kkandror@bu.edu), Co-Directors,(1.1.12)


B. ARC-Programs

[click below for a full text]

MITOCHONDRIA IN HEALTH AND DISEASE
Dr. Orian Shirihai, ARC Director (shirihai@bu.edu) (2.1.09)


[click below for a full text]

MOLECULAR, BIOMECHANICAL AND GENETIC MECHANISMS OF ARTERIAL STIFFNESS
Drs. Richard A. Cohen (racohen@bu.edu) and Kathleen Morgan (kmorgan@bu.edu), ARC Directors (12.1.10)


[click below for a full text]

PROTEIN TRAFFICKING AND NEURODEGENERATIVE DISEASE
Dr. Lindsay Farrer, ARC Director (farrer@bu.edu) (12.1.09)


[click below for a full text]

SEX DIFFERENCES IN ADIPOSE TISSUE BIOLOGY AND RELATED METABOLIC DISEASE
Dr. Susan Fried, ARC Director (skfried@bu.edu) (12.1.09)


C. ARCs graduated into centers or PPG or other

[click below for a full text]

iPS Bank (in collaboration with CReM)
Drs. Darrell N. Kotton and Gustavo Mostoslavsky, ARC Directors (dkotton@bu.edugmostosl@bu.edu) (2.1.09)

***successful completion of ARC research with achievement of a formal university-recognized Center for Regenerative Medicine***


[click below for a full text]

CARDIOVASCULAR CONSEQUENCES OF METABOLIC DISEASE
Dr. Kenneth Walsh (kxwalsh@bu.edu), ARC Director

***successful completion with achievement of an NHLBI-funded PPG ( Grant Number: 2P01HL081587-06A1; Principal Investigator: KENNETH WALSH; Project Title: Metabolic Control of Endothelial Cell Phenotype; Project Period: 04/1/2011- 2/29/2016)***


[click below for a full text]

BIOMARKERS OF DISEASE
Dr. Mark McComb (mccomb@bu.edu), ARC Director, and Drs.  Richard Cohen (racohen@bu.edu), and Catherine Costello (cecmsms@bu.edu), ARC co-Directors (12.1.09)

***ARC Directors re-directed efforts into a newly funded NIH grant to support a National Proteomic Center at BU***


[click below for a full text]

OBESITY, CANCER AND INFLAMMATION
Dr. Gerald Denis (gdenis@bu.edu), ARC Director, and Dr. Barbara Nikolajczyk (bnikol@bu.edu), ARC Co-Director (12.1.10)

***In 12.1.12, members of this ARC joined other ARCs focused on metabolic disease and obesity (see above), thus enhancing collaborative capabilities ***


[click below for a full text]

CALCIUM HOMEOSTASIS IN HEALTH AND DISEASE
Drs. Victoria Bolotina (bolotina@bu.edu) and Mike Kirber (mkirber@bu.edu), ARC Directors (12.1.10)

***ARC obtained Foundation Funding to develop Parkinson Disease-related research***


[click below for a full text]

ATRIAL FIBRILLATION: EPIDEMIOLOGY AND GENOMICS IN AN URBAN CARE CENTER
Jared W. Magnani, MD (jared.magnani@bmc.org), ARC Co-Director, and Emelia J. Benjamin, MD, ScM (emelia@bu.edu), ARC Co-Director (12.1.10, funding did not matriculate)

***ARC Directors developing infrastructure***


[click below for a full text]

BLOOD MICROBIOME
Drs. Marie E. McDonnell (Marie.McDonnell@bmc.org) and Lisa Ganley-Leal (Lisa.GanleyLeal@bmc.org), ARC Directors (2.1.09)

*In 2011, members of this ARC joined other related ARCs, as the Microbiome initiative was halted upon transition of leading faculty to other institution*


Contact|Directory|BUMC
May 22, 2014
Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine