Pre-ARCs

arc-logo-blue-198x100

Pre-ARCs serve as intermediate phase of exploration of research themes before becoming a formal ARC. Ideas on Pre-ARC themes have been initiated by investigators as well as by the Evans Center Director. Once a pre-ARC group is assembled, the group is invited to post here a summary of missions  and plans for an ARC, including names and affiliations of PIs who are interested in joining. This 1-2 page outline will provide enough information for other colleagues to consider participation in the pre-ARC, and eventually ARC (following approval of a review panel). As is the case with the pre-ARCs and ARCs posted here, the Evans Center Director will discuss such research themes, and provide insight as needed. For additional information, please contact Katya Ravid at kravid@bu.edu.

List of Pre-ARCs

greenlineHepatitis C virus Transmission, Outcomes, and Healthcare Delivery Among Substance User
Co-Directors: Dr. Karen Jacobson (Karen.Jacobson@bmc.org), Dr. Benjamin Linas (Benjamin.Linas@bmc.org) and Dr. Judith Tsui (judith.tsui@bmc.org)

(February 2014- )

(Click on the title to view the proposal)

greenlineThrombosis and Hemostasis in Health and Disease
Co-Directors: Dr. Vipul Chitalia (vichital@bu.edu), Dr. Elaine Hylek (ehylek@bu.edu) and Dr. Katya Ravid (kravid@bu.edu)

(July 2013- )

(Click on the title to view the proposal)

greenline
Comparative Effectiveness: A focus on Processes of Care Among Critically Ill Patients
Co-Directors: Dr. Allan Walkey, Department of Medicine  (awalkey@bu.edu) and TBN

(May 2013- )

(Click on the title to view the proposal)

greenline Stromal Biology and Cancer
Co-Directors: Dr. Douglas Faller, Department of Medicine and Department of Biochemistry (dfaller@bu.edu), Dr. Tien Hsu, Department of Medicine (tienh@bu.edu), and and Dr. Maria Trojanowska, Department of Medicine  (trojanme@bu.edu)(May 2013- )

(Click on the title to view the proposal)

greenline

 

Since 2009 Pre-ARCs were also explored on the following topics:

 

 

Disease risk Assessment and risk prediction; Drs. Vasan Ramachandran, Michael Pencina, Xanthakis, Vanessa (2012)

Cutaneous T cell lymphoma: from bench studies to population studies; Dr. Adam Lerner (2010)

Developmental Processes and Disease; Drs. Kenneth Albrecht, Karen Symes and Wellington Cardoso (2010)

Immunobiology of Trauma; Dr. Daniel Remick (2010)

Mechanisms of Immune Suppression; Drs. Monty Montano and Paul Skolnik (2009)

Vaccine Immunology and Development; Dr. Lee Wetzler (2009)

Biomechanics and Osteoarthritis; Dr. David Felson (2009)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact|Directory|BUMC
February 12, 2014
Primary teaching affiliate
of BU School of Medicine